Skip to content

Bits ‘n’ Bobs Boxes

September 20, 2010

RachVia a fabulous mixed media artist and You Tuber, RachO113, 

(who also loves Gary Reef, who, by the way, gave ME a shout out on his latest vlog, ♫ oh I ♥ him!!!),

…Anyway, as I was saying – Via Rach, I found a new element to incorporate into my mixed media work like my Faerie Boxes.  It is a wonderful product called Rub n Buff.  I used it on a foiling project using a recycled watch box and am so pleased – it looks fabulous!  Photos just don’t do this kind of thing justice, but I still think you’ll get the idea in this album I’ve put together on FaceBook.

I’d always had a heck of a time getting the desired effect and tried chalks, foiling pens, paints, etcetera, but never was happy with the results.  Now I am over the moon, Rub n Buff is perfect!  So easy to use and you just need such a tiny amount.  Only one teeny negative but it could just be me, it does kind of make me a bit loopy as it is petroleum based I think – but next time I’ll use better ventilation and it will be all good.

You can readily find this product on eBay and Amazon but in doing my research I found it at the best price in an on-line store I love; introducing Supplies On Demand.  Working with co-owners, webmaster, Dan and head of fulfillment, Jim, was like a shopper’s dream come true.  They did everything in their power to help me and made me know that I, their customer, was #1. 

I placed my order on September 16 in the afternoon, and received the package on September 18!  What, that quickly and shipping is only $1.99?!  What a sweet shop, thank you guys.

From the Supplies On Demand website:

Amaco Logo
“Amaco has been making high quality art and craft supplies since 1919. We carry the complete line of
Amaco Rub ‘n Buff and we will soon add Easy Plastic and Wire Form to our inventory. We are the only online store that has custom multi-packs of Rub ‘n Buff that allow you to get a quantity discount on up to 12 different tubes of Rub ‘n Buff. These metallic paints will add some sparkle to all of your craft projects.”

Rub ‘n Buff is a wax base metallic finish formulated from imported canuba waxes, fine metallic powders and select pigment. This unique blend gives pieces decorated with Rub n Buff a finish no paint can duplicate. It can be applied to any clean dry surface, as well as over previously painted surfaces.

Rub n Buff

Ducks-Bits-n-Bobs-Box-3

MaidenShade.com has a page for links called “Resourcefully Yours”.  Here, you’ll find Supplies on Demand, Gary Reef and some other wonderful people, vendors, and places that MaidenShade endorses.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 20, 2010 10:00 am

    ADDITION TO MY SHOUT OUT:
    Welcome to Supplies On Demand – an online retailer specializing in arts and crafts materials, scrapbooking supplies, and small, useful items for around the home and garden. We put customer service first – you order will always be shipped within 24 hours for a flat rate of $1.99*. We have a wide variety of quality items from trusted brands, and we can recommend all of our products because we use them ourselves.

    http://www.suppliesondemand.biz/zen_cart/

Leave a Reply

