Skip to content

The Mixed Media Man

September 14, 2010

WARNING – SERIOUS GUSHING AHEAD!!!

I’m so excited – I’ve discovered an artist who shares his considerable knowledge and himself, freely.  To me this is such a gift in more ways (listed for your convenience below) than one.  His name is Gary Reef and he “lives in the remote forests of Norway”, could it be any more perfect???  I love trees!

Tree Picture I Took:091310-Through-the-Branches

Ways:

  1. First and
  2. second of all, he owns and knows how to use a video camera so he I able to create his “vlogs”.  I have neither one nor two so I am completely impressed. 
  3. Third: Total Well-Spring/Font/Treasure Trove of Knowledge.   With soooo many cool techniques, ideas, things that inspire me as an artist because he is passionate about some of the same things as I am.  I can see them working in my work – they translate fabulously to so many mediums.  I am wriggling in excitement just thinking about things like Citrosolv…
  4. Fourth, this guy is a charmer!  He is able to impart his knowledge in such a way that you not only learn, but you enjoy him as a human being.  Endearing, this lad; vulnerable somehow so you want to pinch him and beat up anyone who dares to be mean to him.  Those eyes hold his essence, sweet and giving.  Plus his Aussie accent is delicious.
  5. Fifth, he says “shit”.  Heh heh heh.  I say shit.  Frequently.  Oh yes, I keep it hidden (mostly) lest people who don’t swear find out the truth (SHE SWEARS LIKE A SAILOR, FOLKS). 

Oh, I could go on but I won’t.  I told Mom MaidenShade last night on the phone [She’s in Minnesota waiting for the Florida weather to get tolerable when she gets here we are doing shows together – isn’t that exciting too?  That’s a different post!] Anyway, I told mom that if I saw this guy, I would kiss him.  (Oh don’t worry, I told Mr. MaidenShade about him too, so it’s not cheating – it’s purely kindred-spiritual, really.)

Go check Gary Reef out on You Tube, on his website, FaceBook, join his NING network – support him in his most worthwhile endeavors.

Ta, I have to go create!  J

Gary Reef

GARY REEF LINKS:
http://www.garyreef.ning.com
CHECKOUT MY WEBSITE:
http://www.garyreef.com
BUY MY SMALL WORKS HERE:
http://www.garyreef.etsy.com
MY SOCIAL NETWORKS:
FACEBOOK (Fan Page)
http://www.facebook.com/?re…
TWITTER:
http://twitter.com/Capricor…

New from MaidenShade (not even listed yet!):

MaidenShade: Empress Woo Spa Night Light

Empress Woo Spa Night Light ($28 plus shipping)

MaidenShade: Water's Edge Paisley Night Light

Water’s Edge Paisley Night Light ($37 plus shipping)

MaidenShade: Woodland Spa Night Light

Woodland Spa Night Light ($28 plus shipping)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2010 9:53 am

    So excited for you! Wow, wow and wow!

    Me thinks there is missing info here…you will be doing shows?

    You are back to art full time?

    What could be better than doing shows with mom?

    Happy for you all around. Remember this isn’t luck. You have been searching and working hard to pull it all together.

    Pat yourself on the back for me.

  2. September 17, 2010 9:56 am

    Hey, great post… I’ve been hooked on Gary for a couple of years now.. He’s the BEST. Glad you found him/us. I agree with everything you said.

Leave a Reply

