Skip to content

March 4th, March Forth!

March 4, 2010

Oh No another Two Feet of Snow!

How could I resist posting this picture?  I put a foot the size of one of these in my mouth at what turned out to be a job interview today… 

Yes, after enduring an initial test a few weeks ago for a part time, temporary position with the City, and scoring well enough for a call back, I went in today just expecting the second of two tests.  This one was to be what they called “a calculator test”.  Not anticipating an interview was probably a blessing.  The answer that came out of the aforementioned mouth, was most certainly not one.

It was all going so well.  I immediately and genuinely liked the women who were conducting the discussion. I felt calm, relaxed and confident.  Even though an interrogation was not counted on, I felt prepared.  I know my skills are good, and I like me.  I have an “how could they not want to just hire me?” attitude.  Then, suddenly interjected into the what felt like almost casual conversation, came the questions you hate to get.  The ones like “tell me a negative aspect about yourself…” 

My stumbling block?  “What are 3 adjectives people would use to describe you?”

Well (those of you who know me)? What 3 would you choose for me?

The first three things that came into MY head were I’m Loyal, Efficient, and SWEET. I cannot believe I said sweet, but I did. What is this, a Ms. America contest that I’d answer SWEET? ARGHHHHHHHH!  And LOYAL??? Am I a dog that this is a quality I should offer up as valuable in an office setting, Arf Arf??? 

Groan.  What about positive, bright, calm, resourceful, dependable, competent, creative, innovative, focused, hard working and the hundreds of other gifts I most certainly possess?  I think I may have mumbled “smart” too, but was embarrassed to expound on that attribute after what had just left my lips.

Ah well, time to move on.  After all, it’s almost Spring by my calendar – and yours too!

Event # of Days Until (from March 4th 2010)
First Day of Spring Days until Saturday, March 20th, 2010 15
Countdown to Easter Days until Sunday, April 4th, 2010 30
First Day of Summer Days until Monday, June 21st, 2010 108
First Day of Autumn Days until Thursday, September 23rd, 2010 202
First Day of Winter Days until Tuesday, December 21st, 2010 291
Countdown to Christmas Days until Saturday, December 25th, 2010 295
Countdown to New Years 2011 Days until Saturday, January 1st, 2011 302

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2010 4:58 pm

    If I had to say the 3 words people use to describe me, I wouldn’t even get to try my hand at the calculator test.

    For you, from a purely business point of view:

    Accountable
    Talented
    Reliable

  2. March 4, 2010 5:23 pm

    “Intelligent, intuitive and invincible!”

  3. March 4, 2010 9:28 pm

    You are all the adjectives you listed. And, so many times I regret what I say so I can empathize with the feeling. BUT…

    There is something telling in your recounting of the test turned interview … “I immediately and genuinely liked the women who were conducting the discussion. ” You liked them and wanted them to know that if you were working together, you were “sweet” (which you SO are). Who would you rather share a workspace with… the most focused person or a sweet person? I think this is exactly what fit. It is a part time job with the city where people tend to stay for years. That trait may be more important than many others. And, it certainly isn’t one that many would think to use to describe themselves. You may be surprised!

  4. March 6, 2010 10:13 am

    Coming from somebody with a never-ending sweet tooth, sweet is good!

    I love, Love, LOVE that photo!

  5. March 20, 2010 2:19 am

    Hello Jennifer,

    You know, when during that time, I bet you didn’t find that funny – the situation you’ve been. But reading your post sure makes me think you know when to laugh on situation and have a little sense of humor 🙂

    Hhhhmm now I’m wondering what would be the 3 adjectives to say when asked such a question LOL

    Though when I read your previous post about perseverance (interview aside), I thought that is one great trait.

    Mizpah,
    Li

Leave a Reply

