Skip to content

Oreo Truffle Recipe

February 9, 2010

I was lost within the latest version of FaceBook last night at 3 a.m. (sneezing, snorting and freezing as I’ve been trying for the last month to shake a sinus bug.  The weather here in Florida reminds me more of northern Georgia which isn’t helping me any…) Anyway, I was trying to figure it out, when what do I find there within one of my friend’s posts?  Heaven.  Yum.  I know this will cure me.  I hope it helps you, too:

EASY OREO TRUFFLES

EASY OREO TRUFFLES

Ingredients:

  • 1 (16 oz.) package of OREO Chocolate Sandwich cookies (the original kind)
  • 1 (8 oz.) package of cream cheese, softened
  • 1 (16 oz.) package of semi sweet chocolate chips, melted
  • 1 tablespoon of vegetable oil

Directions:
Crush 9 of the cookies to fine crumbs in a food processor and reserve for later use. You can use less if you like because this is only used to sprinkle on the top of the "truffle". Cookies can also be finely crushed in a resealable plastic bag using a rolling pin.

Crush the remaining 36 cookies to fine crumbs; place in medium bowl. Add cream cheese; mix until well blended. Roll cookie mixture into 42-48 balls, about 1 inch in diameter. You can use a melon-baller, coated with a little oil and it will go more quickly and be less messy.

Put the balls in the refrigerator to firm up (lol). After about an hour, melt the chocolate chips and oil in a bowl using your preferred method (double boiler, in a bowl over a pan of water, in the microwave, etc.)

Dip the balls in chocolate one by one and place them on a wax paper-covered cookie sheet, or you may put them into mini baking cup (you know, those miniature cupcake sleeves). Sprinkle with the reserve cookie crumbs.

Refrigerate until firm. Store leftover (HA!) truffles covered, in the refrigerator.

pig

Truffles? Oh oui oui!” – or was that “oink oink?”

♥♥♥

A WORD FROM OUR SPONSORS

Here’s something that always reminded me of a chocolate covered cherry.  As I happen to love chocolate covered cherries, I think this romantic, shabby-chic, cottage-style, Victorian style night light is simply visually delicious and would make a great ILY Valentine’s Day gift!

Victorian Roses Night Light from MaidenShade.com

  • Victorian Roses Floral Night Light has beautiful fabric with deep pink and red roses against latticed medallions of tan flowers and vines, really a very neutral background. Old-fashioned yet contemporary with its clean lines and honest floral theme, Victorian Roses is framed in a contrasting gimps and sweet ribbons; it is dignified yet so pretty. What a wonderful little decorative element you can easily incorporate into your home!
  • Colors: red, tan, green, pink
  • Theme: Floral, Victorian, Rose, Nature, Feminine, Classic, Night Light, Gift, Decorating, Designer, Custom
  • Advertisements
    5 Comments leave one →
    1. February 9, 2010 11:27 am

      My girlfriend makes these every year for our cookie exchange and they are SO good!
      Look what else showed up in my reader this morning:
      http://annies-eats.com/2010/02/09/cookie-dough-truffles/
      (It’s like God is telling me to forget about dieting before Mexico and to be ok with scaring all the natives with my pale chubby legs :0))

    2. February 9, 2010 2:33 pm

      those sound wonderful

      too wonderful

      I fear I’d eat one whole batch during one episode of Criminal MInds!

    3. February 9, 2010 8:25 pm

      Oh my! Is it snacktime yet?

    4. February 9, 2010 9:08 pm

      I would definitely be a pig with these around! Gimme chocolate any day of the week! I read about your job interview, it sounds like you had a rough time. I do hope the job search works out for you, it’s got to be so hard. I hope otherwise things are well with you and the back is all healed up!

    5. February 10, 2010 10:52 pm

      I am sorry to hear you have not been feeling well. I am one of those strange people that does not like chocolate but I know someone (my daughter) who would love these though. Hope you feel better soon!

    Leave a Reply

