Skip to content

Beer Cheese Soup (ala Ms Pink)

January 6, 2010

When a new friend stopped by and left a comment, I went and visited her blog.  It’s the nice thing to do after all; common courtesy dictates one should repay a comment, IMHO.  Especially a surprise, unsolicited one.

Following this practice, you can explore a new blog and if you’re lucky, you’ll find a treasure like this recipe to take away with you.  I’ve yet to try it, but wanted to share it right away as it sounded so good and it’s been so darn cold everywhere. 

Speaking of cold, guess where this reader is from?  Prior Lake, Minnesota!  YAAAAAhhhh, ya know!  Hey GF, I’m from St. Paul! Thank you Ms. Pink (her name is a link to her blog)!

BEER CHEESE SOUP

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 large yellow onion, diced
  • 3-4 carrots, diced
  • 3-4 stalks celery, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, smashed and minced
  • 1 stick butter (8 Tbsp)
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 4 cups milk (whole makes richer soup, skim is healthier but not as good)
  • 32 oz carton low sodium chicken broth
  • 16 oz beer – Ale makes the best soup (I used Sierra Nevada)
  • 2 Tbsp Worcestershire
  • 2 tsp dry mustard
  • 24 oz extra sharp cheddar cheese (for cost reasons, I usually use 1 lb of the cheap Kraft cheese and 1/2 lb of a really good cheddar but you can do whatever)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • popcorn for garnish

DIRECTIONS

  1. Melt butter on medium heat in large pot/Dutch oven – sauté onion, carrot, celery and garlic 5-7 minutes or until soft
  2. Turn down heat to low and add flour – stir constantly 4-5 minutes
  3. Slowly add milk, broth and beer – stir well to combine and bring to a simmer for at least 5 minutes or until soup thickens
  4. Add Worcestershire, mustard powder and salt/pepper to taste. (At this point you can either puree your soup with an immersion blender OR you can just leave it – depends on if you like "bits" in your soup or not. I prefer very small bits, so I usually take a few turns with the immersion blender, but I know people that put it in the blender so it’s super smooth and know others that like huge chunks so just leave it – it’s totally a personal thing…go with your gut.)
  5. Slowly add cheese by the handful, making sure it’s melted before adding more. When all cheese has been added, let simmer for at least 10 minutes – although I like to let mine sit on low for about a half hour.
  6. Ladle into bowls and top with popcorn!

BeerCheeseSoup

So, that’s her recipe.  I’m going to do something different though, which is start with my homemade potato soup as the base, eliminating the flour and adjusting liquids as needed.  This super hearty soup will be called Potato and Ham Beer Cheese Soup.  Oh my that sounds so good!  I have to go to the store for ingredients.  xJ

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2010 10:22 pm

    Sounds yummy! There is only one thing I say is a must…excellent cheese! I made a mac & cheese from scratch with store brand, Shaw’s, and it was awful! Back to the Cabot when I am spending time cooking.

  2. January 7, 2010 9:52 am

    Yeay! Thanks for posting and back-linking and whatever jargon I’m missing 🙂

    I just made a potato/ham version this past week too!

    I found you through your son C – we went to HS together and at some point before seeing him at M’s wake last month, I “stalked” your store site through a link from his fb page and found your blog which I love. You post so many positive and fun thoughts and things 🙂
    We had a whole conversation that evening about what a cool mom C had and he agreed (of course!) 🙂

    Now if I could just keep my blog a little more consistent…ah well, that’s what new years resolutions are for, right?!?!

  3. January 12, 2010 1:02 pm

    Just a note to say the soup was really good – as a matter of fact, I had frozen some and just had it for lunch. Yum. xJ

Leave a Reply

