Skip to content

Witch, Fiddler, Maiden

September 17, 2009

Here are some interesting pieces – diverse in subject, although of the same medium.  Last week it was a faerie art box – this week it is tapestries.

This first is one of my bestest favorites.  Introducing my fabulous Halloween witch.  This public domain, digitally-altered, line drawing is from a Pear’s Soap ad, circa 1918.  The piece our beauty adorns is called “Merry Meet” and it sold before I even completed it.  I was happy she was purchased by someone who will love her as much as I do; but still got a pang when she went and bewitched the buyer so completely, she is a charmer.

Merry-Meet-Quote

Merry-Meet-2

Merry-Meet-broom

Her broom – also note the 4 Elements of Earth, Air, Water, and Fire in each corner

Merry-Meet-crow 

The Crow and Straw Elements

Merry-Meet-Top

Moon and Stars

Minnehaha

Here is Minnehaha.  She is one of my American American series.  As opposed to German American, or Irish American, or African American… LOL.  Well, I don’t want to offend anyone… should it be American Indian?  Real American?  Native American?  Politically correct has got me tied in knots here.  I even have some Indian blood, but don’t know what to call this series… I don’t want to insult me for crying out loud.  Since she and Hiawatha were from a poem, maybe I should call this the “Pretend American” series?  hmmm.  Anyroad I like it because it is pretty.

The-Fiddler-in-progress

Here is Fiddle De Dee, my darling musical cricket.  He is still in progress.  Maybe he’ll be done tomorrow – I am not quite sure.

Have a wonderful Thursday.  I hope you get a chance to do something creative and if you do, please show us.

THUMBS-UP

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2009 5:53 am

    Very neat! I love witches used for projects and she’s such a charming one! I also read your post below and i tend to like blogs that have a mix of things. Repetition can get boring. I like pictures too, but then I’m a visual person. The worst thing I’ve come across so far, white white text on a black background. It is horrible on the eyes to read.

  2. September 17, 2009 5:50 pm

    These are just delightful! The witch is charming – and I just love the cricket!

    People don’t like long blogs? LOL Well, they should stay away from mine – once started, I don’t stop! LOL

    Look forward to seeing your next pieces.

  3. Cindy permalink
    September 24, 2009 3:57 am

    My Merry Meet Witch arrived in perfect condition. You were correct about being charmed, one look and I knew I had to have her. She is now in Michigan enjoying the fall weather. I was so glad that we stumbled in where you were working. She was truly a great find. Thank you so much.

Leave a Reply

