Skip to content

QUESTION OF THE DAY

September 15, 2009

What would YOU like to read or see in a blog (or even a Face Book, Twitter… update)? 

I’ve been trying different stuff on mine – from jokes, recipes, and science to MaidenShade items.  I try to keep away from a large quantity of extremely personal things, but I don’t exclude them.  I’m too tender-hearted to be completely hard-edged with that, although I do know one is "supposed" to keep that voice out of a blog. 

Having said that, help me out here – what makes you a reader/follower of people’s blogs/updates and so on?  What turns you off?

Here are a couple I know bother some readers:

  • extremely looooooooooong posts that require scrolling
  • politically charged posts (well, unless of course that is what the blog is about)
  • musical, confettied, uber-flashy posts/sites

Push Pin

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2009 7:16 pm

    I do like the how too’s. Yes, sometimes the music is a bit much.

  2. September 15, 2009 11:01 pm

    Okay, confession, I’m the long post person! But, you know, I’m one of your biggest fans. And, I find myself doing long posts,too. It’s so hard to shut me up!

    I like tips! I mean it is taking me forever, as in FOREVER, to figure out etsy! I just left a tip for faster listing on etsy on my blog which I soooo wish I had figured out ages ago.

    I love simple time saving and “making life easier” tips on anything. I mean I didn’t know about the Swiffer when it came out for ages because grocery shopping and TV commercials aren’t a big part of my life. And, I didn’t know about sunglasses with that little magnifying thingy so you can read in the sun. I honestly thought they were totally reading sunglass lens. I just bought a pair, by total mistake this summer. See, stupid stuff makes me incredibly happy.

    Links! I love links to great people, great things, and great ideas!

    Hope this helps.

    (Okay, back to web design. In a sing song voice…I can put a background image in Prostores by sections! Doing the happy dance now!)

  3. September 16, 2009 5:14 pm

    Variety. đŸ™‚ I think I enjoy reading just about everything especially if it is something new to me.

    Also like to read posts with clear text. Sometimes I find myself squinting in some I’ve encountered – with text color almost disappearing in the background.

Leave a Reply

