Skip to content

Sunday Scientifically Speaking

September 6, 2009
Which are You?

The Right Brain versus Left Brain Test (a repeat from a post I saw on Loveleigh Treasures (Sares) blog which fascinated me, used with her permission of course!)

Do you see the dancer turning clockwise or counter-clockwise?  If clockwise, then you use more of the right side of the brain and vice versa.  Most of us would see the dancer turning counter-clockwise, though you can try to focus and change the direction; see if you can do it.

LEFT BRAIN FUNCTIONS

RIGHT BRAIN FUNCTIONS

· uses logic

· detail oriented

· facts rule

· words and language

· present and past

· math and science

· can comprehend

· knowing

· acknowledges

· order/pattern perception

· knows object name

· reality based

· forms strategies

· practical

· safe

· uses feeling

· "big picture" oriented

· imagination rules

· symbols and images

· present and future

· philosophy & religion

· can "get it" (i.e. meaning)

· believes

· appreciates

· spatial perception

· knows object function

· fantasy based

· presents possibilities

· impetuous

· risk taking

Experimentation has shown that the two different sides or hemispheres of the brain are responsible for different manners of thinking. The following table illustrates the differences between left-brain and right-brain thinking:

LEFT BRAIN

RIGHT BRAIN

· logical

· sequential

· rational

· analytical

· objective

· looks at parts of things

· random

· intuitive

· holistic

· synthesizing

· subjective

· looks at things as a whole

Most individuals have a distinct preference for one of these styles of thinking. Some, however, are more whole-brained and equally adept at both modes. In general, schools tend to favor left-brain modes of thinking, while down playing the right-brain activities. Left-brain scholastic subjects focus on logical thinking, analysis, and accuracy. Right-brained subjects, on the other hand, focus on aesthetics, feeling, and creativity.

No surprise here – all I have ever seen, no matter how many times I’ve looked – is the figure going clockwise.  I cannot get her to switch.  Mr. MaidenShade, however, sees her going back and forth with the blink of an eye.  Hmmm.  I want both too!  Dagnabit.

How about you?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2009 7:54 pm

    I was going to say….it seemed everytime I looked away it changed. I had to really keep eyes on her to see the direction switch. Interesting…

  2. Terry S. permalink
    September 6, 2009 8:00 pm

    I can only see her going counter clockwise, not clockwise. Oh well! No wonder I have always been into math and science, and like doing logic puzzles.

  3. September 7, 2009 9:12 pm

    She was spinning clockwise for me, when I scrolled down to read the lists and when I looked back, she was going counter. I scrolled down again and back up and she switched AGAIN to clockwise. Usually she just spins clockwise and I can’t make her do the other way. I would say I am VERY right brained, except the risk taking. I would say I like to play it safe most of the time. This is always a fun thing to see. Thanks for posting it again, it’s interesting to see if you can mess with your brain! Happy Labor Day!

  4. Jennifer permalink
    September 8, 2009 12:38 am

    Thanks for sharing it Sares, it’s a great mind-teaser!

  5. September 8, 2009 2:01 am

    What a fun post. I think I will just use one side of my brain and not try to use the other. The one side has enough to do, do not need more! LOL! Martha

  6. September 8, 2009 4:02 am

    Interesting… I see the dancer turning counter-clockwise, but I’m definitely more of a right-brained person.

Leave a Reply

