Skip to content

Prelude to a Post

September 5, 2009

I thought I was ready and able to return to Pink Saturday posting this week.  Willing, well certainly.  But things being what they are and times too – this is what I came up with for my big come back.  I’ve been planning this for 3 weeks.  This is not a joke… Don’t laugh –

Pink-Loo-iIt’s my guest bathroom toity seat I painted (I’ll spare you the monstrous navy blue one from the master).  Oh it’s pathetic, and I know it.  But here’s the thing (I mean besides the argument for recycling, reusing…), I spend every dime I can on art/business supplies or needs.  I don’t have any extra for extravagances like new loo seats, which we ‘needed’.  These were perfectly good (except for the worn or peeling bits and suspicious looking staining from that tenacious drop-in blue toilet stuff that splashed upon flushing, and then so cheekily wouldn’t come off, leaving a nasty mottled effect in the most unfortunate places all over the seat, lid…).

Still, I liked them, good bones, you know?  They had raised designs, were wooden, and solid.  Plus my daughter and SIL were coming to visit for a week and they hadn’t been down here for 3 and 5 years respectively.  I’d already painted the entire master bathroom (we gave them the master suite to stay in as it is larger for visitors with their suitcases) and MaidenShade’s studio hallway in preparation.  Three months ago I painted the laundry, kitchen, dining and living areas and made new curtains.  I couldn’t have worn and stained potty seats in the face of all that freshness!

After looking for replacements at Home Depot and seeing how much it would cost us for 2 sturdy seats, I came up with a brilliant alternative. “WE’LL PAINT THEM” I said, “then I’ll use the pink one for my return Pink Saturday post!”, I exclaimed joyfully, and with great ignorance. 

“Really?  You think that’s a good idea, do ya?”  I should have asked myself.

We had a good selection, so I thought, of that “sticks to anything” Krylon Fusion Spray Paint for plastic, wood, flesh; so I took off the seats, cleaned them up real good, then David (he’s such a trooper) wiped them off with TSP and sprayed the heck out of them, only to run out of paint.  Turns out it takes more than one can.  So this that is how this freebee fixit idea became 2, $7 cans of additional paint more expensive, plus the gas to drive to Ace to get them, and finally 2 coats of poly to seal them.  ‘sigh.  As it would happen, the pink was so weak, listless, and unfortunate all around,  I thought I’d paint over the raised designs to brighten it up, with my very expensive pearlized liquid acrylic – and, and, WHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA! 

Now this is what I (or any visitor) am forced to endure every time I have to… well, you get the idea.

Pink-Loo-Open

Ugh.  Oh my.  They are uneven in tone, rough to the touch and down right sharp around that inner rim there.  Boo! 

So, to make up for this horrid post which has gone right into the toilet, please accept my apologies and let me leave you with this to look at and remember me kindly by. 

Here is a beautiful custom “Ginger Jar” night light I made for my shop-mate, Marion.  She took it to Canada as a gift for her hostess, whom she is currently visiting (and who I am certain has lovely, white toilet seats for her guests and herself).  Two of her pieces, a carving which is in progress, and a fun fused glass dish are pictured as well.

 Gilded-Ginger-Jar

Gilded-Ginger-Jar-i

Have a wonderful day,  I’ll visit over the next few days as I now work Saturdays.  xJ

way
Be sure to visit our other “Pinkies” !
Pink Saturday How Sweet the Sound
How Sweet the Sound

19 Comments leave one →
  1. Ruth permalink
    September 5, 2009 4:31 pm

    I think the loo seats are a hoot! Thanks for dropping by my suburbia.

  2. September 5, 2009 5:28 pm

    think the loo seat looks pretty cool to me happy pink saturday

  3. September 5, 2009 6:27 pm

    The nigh light you made with the dangling beads is a beauty. But I don’t think I’ll ever forget you painted pink toilet seat. Yes, it’ll rise above the many pink posts that I’ll probably visit for this Pink Saturday LOL

    Happy Pink Saturday Jennifer!

    Li

  4. September 5, 2009 6:36 pm

    Very interesting and pretty looking. Happy Pink Saturday.

  5. September 5, 2009 6:47 pm

    Hi Jennifer,
    What a pretty night light. Thanks for stoppin by and leaving comments on my blog. Happy PS

  6. September 5, 2009 6:50 pm

    You are, hands down, the winner of this week’s pink trooper award. It actually doesn’t look bad. Question is what will happen when you start to use cleaning products on it :-). Good luck! I hope you are having a wonderful day.

  7. liz permalink
    September 5, 2009 8:23 pm

    Well this is one Pink Saturday I won’t forget in a hurry 🙂 I think you did a great job painted those loo seats. Re-cycle is the name of the game in our house at the minute too!!

    Have a great Pink Saturday

  8. September 5, 2009 8:50 pm

    Well, I guess a girl’s gotta do what a girls’ gotta do in this tough economy! The custom shade is beautiful, I love all those deep rich colors, I bet it looks gorgeous all lit up. Happy Pink Saturday Jennifer and I hope you have a loveleigh holiday weekend!

  9. September 5, 2009 9:51 pm

    Hey Jennifer,
    Well you win the prize for the most unusual Pink Saturday post! You did a great job on the seats. The nightlight shade is lovely with all the beads. Have yourself a great weekend.

    Blessings,
    Sandi

  10. September 5, 2009 10:18 pm

    Oh you made me laugh out load today, such a wonderful post, I love it. Nothing wrong with taking something you already have and making it better. We all should be doing that, saving all the stuff from the landfil and saving money at the same time, good job, Happy Pink Saturday, Char

  11. September 5, 2009 10:41 pm

    Love the toilet story. Your a trooper. Thanks for sharing. Martha

  12. September 6, 2009 2:54 am

    I think we have that same toilet seat with the raised design! Hmmmm – you’ve got me thinking! I love your night light, too! But kudos for re-doing the toilet seat!!!
    Happy Pink Saturday!

  13. September 6, 2009 5:08 am

    Love how creatively you “upcycled” your loo seat. It’s a great way to save money and landfill space, by improving what you have instead of buying new.

  14. September 6, 2009 7:36 am

    I think it was a great idea and came out really cute. Cool nightlight too. I hope you had a great Pink Saturday!

  15. September 6, 2009 7:49 am

    Hello,
    Happy Pink Saturday!! Thanks for coming to visit me this morning and sorry I didn’t have my pink saturday post published yet. Come back for another visit if you’d like, put my pinkie post up.
    ♥ Rebecca
    http://bellemaisonshop.blogspot.com/

  16. September 6, 2009 12:25 pm

    Sweet pink in toilet.

  17. September 7, 2009 7:31 am

    I really like the toilet seat. Everything is very expensive now – it was a great idea. Happy belated Pink Saturday and I hope yoy are enjoying the holiday weekend.

  18. collectedtreasures permalink
    September 8, 2009 3:27 am

    f u n n y……I totally get it. thanks for stopping by my Pink Saturday….look forward to having you visit again soon…xojana

  19. April 14, 2014 4:07 am

    I еvery time spent my half an hour to read this blog’s content daily along with a
    cup oof coffeе.

Leave a Reply

