Skip to content

Open 4 Business

August 28, 2009

On very short notice I did it.  After picking up the key on Tuesday late afternoon (3:45 to be exact) I got all of my work, studio supplies, and miscellany over in 5 trips – 3 that evening, the rest the next day.  David brought the tables and heavy things like my mini-fridge I got for my birthday a few years back.  He also kindly changed the burned out light bulbs – ah the convenience of having willing height and hands!  Wednesday was physically brutal.  Bear in mind, I’m used to sitting all day long either writing, or working on art pieces.  Physicality doesn’t play much of a role in my life as of late… until this last few days that is.

I killed mosquitoes who for some reason were living in this long-empty shop, cleaned hundreds of yards of glass, a really nasty washroom, and bug shells off the walls.  I was praising God the entire time, unable to fully fathom this gift I’ve been given.  From the empty walls I took off strips of metal used for hanging, removed nails, spackled and sanded.  David managed the three stubborn strips I couldn’t muscle myself, he’s such a great guy.  I unpacked, unwrapped, placed and set things up from my elaborate work space with my multitude of “stuff”, to the hundreds of night lights, lamps, and wall hangings.  I got things merchandised, labeled, straightened, and ready.  All of this in one and a half days.  Here is the result:

00-Looking-In-000-Looking-In-1
00-Looking-In-2
 
Looking In (Door, My Workspace) Above,
Around the Room Below

01-Around-the-room04-Around-the-room

 

03-Around-the-room

 

06-2-Around-the-room 06-1-Around-the-room 

 

06-3-Around-the-room

My Work Space

07-1-Around-the-room 08-Around-the-room

 

 

 

 09-Around-the-
roomMy Co-Artist, Marion’s Space (not quite set up yet)
Vignettes 11-Vignette-4
11-Vignette-1
11-Vignette-211-Vignette-3

Isn’t it just fabulous???  These Herculean efforts were to get ready for last night’s monthly event, the Artist Walk at the Promenade. 

An Artist Walk is an interesting and entertaining way for artists and their soon-to-be admirers to become acquainted.  The setting for this event is exquisite, as is the work presented.  Each shop holds new discoveries, artful treasures that otherwise might never have been graced by the public eye.  Our guests meander a large complex of covered sidewalks, surrounded by sparkling water features and lush tropical landscaping. The walk takes them from shop to shop, keeping everyone protected from the strong, Florida sun, or even rain (as we are in the rainy season here).  Live musical entertainment accompanies the stroll through our little slice of paradise, the mood is relaxed and rich.

We offered wine (thanks to the generosity of the Art League), cheese and fruit (we provided) for the hundreds of visitors that meandered into our store from 4-7 last night.  It is so gratifying to hear exclamations over the intricacies in my pieces, and I had dozens ask about all of the different mediums I work in; patrons who were genuinely interested in the techniques I use.  3 of my pieces were sold I think (David worked the POS, thank goodness), but there were so many cards taken I am certain to get more sales from this exposure. 

(By the way: My shop-sharer, Marion Haley does the most glorious glass and stone work.  Just gorgeous stuff.  I’ll feature photos of her pieces in another post.  Wait until you see it!)

This is an unbelievable opportunity.  Can you say “grateful”?  I sure can, and believe me, “thank you’s” are unceasing in my heart!  The woman who pulls all of this together is the amazing (and apparently untiring) Susan Bridges, Executive Director of the Art League.  I bow to her resourcefulness, dedication and drive, what a woman!

So that’s it for now.  I have to get going to my haven – with so many wonderful pieces in progress, there is no time to waste.  xJ

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Mike Swan permalink
    August 28, 2009 8:04 pm

    Pretty amazing! Great job,the shop looks so bright and clean. How exciting for you! You had better get to work! God bless you and your store.

  2. Emily Sweeney permalink
    August 28, 2009 9:15 pm

    What an awesome display you did a wonderful job, everything looks so professional and beautiful.Finally shows your work in the best light!!! I am so proud of you!!! Love you much. Mom

  3. August 28, 2009 9:38 pm

    Oh my goodness! And you haven’t thrown your back out! Your amazing to get all that done, but it paided, beautiful area! Lucky, ducky, you!

  4. princessrunninglips permalink
    August 28, 2009 10:04 pm

    lovely, charming, delightful…congratulations and well done….

  5. Adrienne permalink
    August 29, 2009 1:32 am

    I’m so proud of you! It looks great – even better than the other artist’s displays we saw!

  6. September 2, 2009 8:27 pm

    Congratulations! This is such fun! I wish you great success!

  7. Anonymous permalink
    September 8, 2009 6:58 pm

    Jenny,

    What a talent you have to put such a display together in such short time. I am sure the exposure will help you a lot and as I told you before, most of my contemporaries don’t shop on line.

    Good luck to you and I look forward to seeing the real thing in November.

    With pride –

    Your wicked step mother Tina Swan

Leave a Reply

