Skip to content

Insight and Faerie Boxes

July 29, 2009

Those who know me well understand my disappearances.  The creative channel opens up, industriousness takes hold and I wake up and it’s days, weeks – “OMG – could it be a month?” since last we spoke. 

During these episodes, I (or a now-immune Mr. MaidenShade) find myself sitting staring into space, bits and pieces of projects, to-do’s, and random thoughts bombarding the distance between my very actively-imaginative brain and vision, only to come ‘round and realize my fingers are long-since still on the keyboard or that the pen has stopped writing mid-vowel. 

Can you just see me, vacant look on my face, eyes slightly gazed and frequent heavy sighs escaping my parted lips. Frightening, isn’t it?  Imagine the poor cats.  LOL.

When I was a teenager, it was fashionable to smoke “dope” as we called it.  You know what people said about me?  “Jennifer is naturally stoned, she doesn’t need to smoke…”    I guess it was just that they had to have a reason why I didn’t indulge in their form of recreation (paranoia about someone being a “narc” ran high in those days) as well as an explanation as to why I was such a space cadet. 

A bit uncomfortable with the jibes then, I do smile about it these days.  All of those little disparaging voices are amazingly silent now as I work creating magic.

This brings me to what I’ve been up to in case you’ve been wondering if I fell off of the edge of the earth, or what.

  1. I’m in the middle of several more faerie boxes and gathering materials for my Indian series of what people who have seen them are calling my “tapestries”.  They said the term “wall hangings” doesn’t describe them well enough.  They also said to tell you (after witnessing them in person) that computer images simply don’t do them justice. They went “oh, that’s what that is…” about specific features or themes that were somehow lost in translation over the internet.  It was noted that the layered richness and intricate, detailed depth is lost – flattened into a single sorry dimension in a photograph.
  2. Did you notice my new header?  Uh-huh, nice isn’t it?  That’s because I’m getting ready.  For what?  Well, I’ve been researching and finally was given the answer to prayer.  MaidenShade Matters is going to be moving to a dedicated site.  Look for more on that soon!

For now, here are some photos (you know, everyone loves to look at pictures) of my workspace and a few shots of a faerie box in progress.

Where-I-Work-i 1/2 of MaidenShade’s studio work area.  Today’s project happens to be faerie boxes.  Tomorrow may bring another chapter in a faerie tale called “Ursula”, lampshades, night lights, or collage.
Box-Pre-Magic-iBox-Pre-Magic 

A box, pre-magic.  It may be any of several varieties of new or reclaimed sturdy box types.

Box-Gets-Painted-with-Gesso
It gets painted with gesso (a white primer) on all sides.
This box is becoming a “Holle” faerie box.  She is transforming before my eyes –
Box-Painted-Decorated-Insid

After the gesso, an acrylic or dye base coat is applied inside and out, first details like these stamps (above) are on top of this layer.
Box-in-Progress-Aging
The current stage involves aging and layering of details.  At this point the ink is drying and setting.  Next will be sealing, stamping and drawing, sealing that layer – and so on.  More to come in part II!

☻☻☻☻☻

Like this?  Please, Pass it on!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

 

15 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2009 7:43 pm

    Wonderful! Tell me more about the dedicated site! Please!

  2. July 29, 2009 8:14 pm

    I love your work! The boxes are fantastic! And the new header is you, it’s wonderful.

  3. July 30, 2009 2:01 am

    It looks like you are up to your elbows in creativity! Love the new header but have no idea what a dedicated site! My nightlight arrived today, safe and sound. It’s beautiful. I just need to get a little bulb to light it up. My last nightlight bulb went out about a month ago and haven’t replaced it yet. I’ll talk with you again when you come back out of your creative frenzy! Thanks again!!!

  4. July 30, 2009 12:18 pm

    I can totally relate to those times when you can’t get motivated to do anything. I have definitely been there too. Your new header is great. I am curious to see what you have in the works for your blog now. Cool studio. I am in the process of reorganizing mine. Love what you have done with the box so far.I look forward to seeing what you do with it next. Thanks of the sweet comments you left on my blog about the video too. If you decide to give them a try and need help let me know.

  5. July 31, 2009 7:34 am

    I like your new header! 🙂 Pink and black is such a nice combo 🙂

    Maybe when you have those “dazed” moments – you go into another world – fairyland perhaps? Must be, for in reality one can never understand that look 🙂 The thought of fairy boxes makes me just smile. A box full of magic – where everything is possible. Nice!

    Li

  6. July 31, 2009 10:37 am

    I love to see great work in progress! You have a great little workspace, it’s nice and bright. I really like your new header. I wish you lots of creativity and inspiration today.

    XOSue

  7. July 31, 2009 5:09 pm

    Can’t wait to see it finished!

  8. July 31, 2009 8:47 pm

    Hi Jennifer! I LOVE your workspace-studio!! Glad to see you! Now if I could just back on my own game! I feel like I have had a nasty rotten cold/allergy/something-or-other ALL SUMMER! I just can’t shake it! My daughter tells me hang in there, as she says it sounds like I have the same thing she had. Anyways, I get a fair amount of sewing and crocheting done at least while this definitely slows me down. But it all feels mechanical right now… like I’m just going through the motions, but any creativity is all fogged up with all the coughing, congestion, and medications! Well, anyways, in the meantime, I’m happy to watch what YOU’RE making! Sounds like fun, so I’m looking forward to Part 2!! ~tina

  9. August 2, 2009 1:43 am

    You have a GREAT workspace!

  10. August 2, 2009 8:10 am

    Beautiful faerie box, great work, and love the new banner!!! So glad you popped in for a visit, hope you’re enjoying your weekend.
    ♥ Teresa

  11. August 3, 2009 2:08 am

    I love your new header! And I envy your workspace. I’m still waiting to have a little space that I call my own craft space. Looking forward to see your new site that is still in mystery.

  12. August 8, 2009 8:51 am

    Up bright and early. Sitting in my new pink chair. Stopping by to say happy pink Saturday.

    Hugs Patti Cakes

  13. August 10, 2009 2:21 am

    Hey I like the way the ‘things’ on your page turn colors. I don’t know what they’re called. heehee. The way they go from purple to gray. I’m fascinated. I love your work area.

  14. August 11, 2009 2:54 am

    Whata fun workshop! I enjoyed seeing your workspace.

    XO,

    Sheila 🙂

  15. August 11, 2009 4:38 pm

    This is beautiful! And I really love seeing your workspace. I get a tad envious — I don’t think mine has ever been so tidy!

Leave a Reply

