Skip to content

And the winner is…

July 27, 2009

Loveleigh Sares!  Congratulations, I know you’ll love this night light. Gingersnap Lg Rd NL

Why not pop on over and visit her?  Loveleigh Treasures is a wonderful blog.

Yesterday I was thinking of how other people pick a winner in their contests.  The last few I had, I just wrote out entrant names, cut them into individual strips, folded them, put them in a container and had Mr. MaidenShade pick one. 

This time I tried to be a bit more scientific.

I did a Google search on “winner picker”.  Not a good search delimiter term… So I tried “choosing winners”, hmmm.  Again not the desired results.  Finally I tried “Random Winner Picker” and I found this site, Random.org.  It has an interesting bit I thought I’d include.

What’s this fuss about true randomness?

Perhaps you have wondered how predictable machines like computers can generate randomness. In reality, most random numbers used in computer programs are pseudo-random, which means they are a generated in a predictable fashion using a mathematical formula. This is fine for many purposes, but it may not be random in the way you expect if you’re used to dice rolls and lottery drawings.

RANDOM.ORG offers true random numbers to anyone on the Internet. The randomness comes from atmospheric noise, which for many purposes is better than the pseudo-random number algorithms typically used in computer programs. People use RANDOM.ORG for holding drawings, lotteries and sweepstakes, to drive games and gambling sites, for scientific applications and for art and music. The service has existed since 1998 and was built and is being operated by Mads Haahr of the School of Computer Science and Statistics at Trinity College, Dublin in Ireland.

— from Random.org

Congrats again Sares, and thank you all for entering!  Have a great week – xJ

☻☻☻☻☻

Like this?  Please, Pass it on!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2009 10:52 am

    How exciting that Sares won! Congrats, Sares!..Chtistine

  2. July 27, 2009 11:34 am

    Congratulations to Sares! She’s a Loveleigh lady, so is a well deserved winner. (I’ll try to get over the disappointment, sob).

  3. July 27, 2009 12:05 pm

    Congrats Sares!

  4. July 27, 2009 1:39 pm

    Oh darn I didn’t win! :0}
    My congrats to Sares!!!!!

    I’ll have to try using that random thingy next time I have a giveaway.
    Was it pretty easy to do?
    Judy

  5. July 27, 2009 3:52 pm

    Thank You again Jennifer. I think the light was such a beautiful thing to win and I can’t wait to plug it in!

  6. July 27, 2009 4:19 pm

    Hi Jennifer! Having already won one of your beautiful lamps, I am very happy to see Sares win one!… So, CONGRATULATIONS SARES!!!!

    As for picking winners in drawings, such as the FOUR who played along with the Harry Potter posts… I did just what you said! I wrote names and cut-up 3×5 cards, and Dear Son stuck his hand into the brown lunch bags I shook the names up in, and then without looking (not that he knew anybody!), he pulled out the names. He seemed to find it amusing, so it is probably the way I’ll do it again sometime. I have a 100th post that’s coming, but I don’t have anything planned yet.. (Yikes!) I guess I better get thinking about THAT soon! (0;

  7. July 27, 2009 6:44 pm

    I toss mine in a basket and let the Gypsy go at it. He usually pulls out one or two, shakes them around and settles on one to chew until I pull it from his mouth. That’s the winner. Not scientific but definitely random!

  8. July 27, 2009 10:36 pm

    Congratulations! I love her blog. I used random.org for two weeks! Whew…there was always an excitement to see who would be picked…randomly.

    Gettting ready to go south. Can’t believe it. I’m even goin’ back ta Texas for a week! Yee Haw! Say a little prayer, too many clouds here for God to hear me. Maybe, just maybe, those guys down there will need someone soooooooo badly they will say, “Mark, you are the only one who can do this.” LOL! Oh well, one can always dream. But, he does go once a month. Why can’t we LIVE there, huh?

    Love your lights. I have the prettiest vintage gimp. Lots of material. Lacking? The patience to make these myself. Very nice job, Ms. Maidenshade.

  9. July 28, 2009 12:09 pm

    Congrats to the Loveleigh Sares! I’ve visited her blog before!

    Thank you for entering my giveaway! Good luck to you! 🙂

  10. July 28, 2009 12:13 pm

    Oh, P.S. I thought I had answered the “is tatting hard?” question. Just in case I didn ‘t I thought I’d do that now. Tatting isn’t hard. Learning is a bit of a challenge. It’s kind of a visual learning process. It’s best if there is a live teacher on hand. Since tatting teachers are rare a DVD or video is the next best substitute. That’s why I’m giving away the book with the DVD in it. Once you learn how the threads switch places in making the very simple knot it’s really EASY! You do the same knot OVER and OVER and OVER again!

Leave a Reply

