Skip to content

Phoenix of Eternal Life

July 15, 2009

Phoenix-Top-Rt-Collage

Phoenix-a-i

BlessedBlessed-Completed

Blessed-Perspective

Blessed-Mary-Closeup Blessed-Rose-Collage   

Ascent

Ascent-iAscent-Bottom-Collage

 

At Water’s EdgeAt-Water's-Edge

At-Water's-Edge-Shell-CollaAt-Water's-Edge-CrowAt-Water's-Edge-Pine-SeedsAt-Water's-Edge-Stone-Colla

 The Story Behind the Art

This time the work inspired poetry and music – in my search for a perfect quote for my Phoenix, I found a song within myself.  Now I don’t expect everyone to appreciate its theme or even its significance, but let me explain what it means to me.  (If you’re offended by Christian stuff you may want to skip this next paragraph.)

It is a song of our journey toward perfection through Jesus to our Father, our God; a call to give in to Him, to the releasing of human fear of that giving in.  Surrender isn’t always the easiest thing to do, is it?  So that’s it.  Our old self dying, the new self emerging into salvation – all made possible because of Christ.  I guess the Phoenix is my soul.

Then I have a lovely work that’s almost shrine-like, called “Blessed”.  Strange for someone who isn’t Catholic, I realize.  But I was raised Catholic (‘they’ called us “cat lickers” LOL, isn’t that a hoot?  And now I have a bunch of cats.  Hmmmm.)  So why Mary?  It was such a lovely painting and I do respect the woman for her part in things.  I have a companion piece to Blessed.  It’s called “Ascent”.  It features that painting with Mary rising up to heaven with all of those fat baby/angels, by Botticelli maybe?  It is so ethereal and magical.

The third is a a tribute to the original Americans, it is the first in what will be a series of pieces.  This one is called “By Water’s Edge”. 

Here’s the aforementioned poem “Phoenix of Eternal Life” that is also a song:

12 Jul 09

Fly fearless to the sun,
to die is to be reborn;
Reduced to ashes, come,
find new life with the morn.

Go into grace, into blessing;
gone is wishing, waiting, guessing.
Consumed completely by His fire,
left free of lowlier desires.

He will completely purify 
delivering us as we die –
Gone are pain, fear and strife;
Rise Phoenix of eternal life!

Fly fearless to the Son
There to find your resurrection;
restored and risen one,
can now begin with new perfection.

Phoenix-Sun-pearls

Like this?  Please, Pass it on!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2009 11:36 pm

    Jennifer, you are a talented lady! I recently purchased a thick book on cards and journal making, what a bible! I know nothing about it but I know enough to say….yours are wonderful!

  2. July 16, 2009 12:35 pm

    These are the best I’ve seen from your work so far. Isn’t it amazing how we evolve? Everything we do in the past becomes “us of the now” and lays the foundation for the “us of the future”. I’m enjoying your journey.

  3. July 16, 2009 3:39 pm

    They are all beautiful. They look like that would be fun to make, but very time consuming. I’m sure you spend hours moving things around before you attach them. Have a terrific day, it’s good to read something from you again!

  4. July 17, 2009 4:57 am

    This is such a beautiful work of art with such a deep and rich meaning! It’s amazing! Amazing like His amazing grace!

    I just wanted to invite you over to my giveaway! Come on over and enjoy the fun! 🙂

  5. July 23, 2009 4:08 pm

    Drop-dead gorgeous. Love those colors. Beautiful work.

  6. July 25, 2009 10:07 am

    Hi, and thanks so much for stopping by my Pink Saturday blog! I was late this morning, and didn’t have my pinks posted yet, so please stop by again! I want to take some time to really look over your beautiful blog! So interesting and I see a lot of talent here! Take care!

  7. July 25, 2009 11:11 am

    Jennifer, your art is so beautiful. I love the rich color and intricacy of your collage work. The poem Phoenix of Eternal Life is the most touching thing I’ve read in a long time. Someone I dearly love passed away two years ago, and the truth of those words is such a comfort. God bless you and thank you for sharing this.

  8. July 25, 2009 11:31 am

    Hello – thank you everyone who posted and so generously commented too. Terri, I am so glad you were blessed by the poem. I post things that I’m given, knowing there is a reason or someone who needs them.

  9. July 25, 2009 11:21 pm

    Hello and Happy Pink Saturday. Cute post, so many pretty things. I’d love to enter for your drawing!
    Bless you, Shirl
    Shirls Rose Cottage

  10. July 25, 2009 11:23 pm

    Hi Jennifer, back again. LOL I forgot to tell you that you went to my Charity Blog, my regular blog is Shirls Rose Cottage. Stop by if you have time.
    Bless you,
    Shirl
    Shirls Rose Cottage

Leave a Reply

