Skip to content

Mallow Madness

July 4, 2009

Well we had some guesses last week on the photos I posted for Pink Saturday from my mother’s garden.  Our savvy Sue, the Florida gardener extraordinaire said “Disco Belle hibiscus … am I right?” According to my mother, in a word, no.

Mom said, "mallows are flat and hibiscus are cupped" and Sue said, “Disco Belle hibiscus look like mallows, so they must be a cross of some kind. I have always been fascinated by them.”

Now I’m not one to argue with mom or a master gardener.  I’ll let you judge for yourselves.  Here are a couple photos from last week, plus a photo of the gorgeous thing next to a plate she sent since the initial post. 

Then, for this week’s something pink I’ll put in yet more of mom’s beauties for you all to enjoy.

White-Mallow-4White Mallow (2)

Mallow-vs-Plate
Caladium  Caladium-1
Big Pink Mallow 004 Big-pink-Mallow-002
Big-pink-Mallow-003 Big-pink-Mallow-001
Big Pink Mallow 005
Dancing-on-the-Head-of-a-Pi  “like a faerie, dancing on the head of a pin”
Dancing-on-the-Head-2

Happy Pink Saturday, thank you Beverly for hosting.  Be sure to visit all of the other Pinkies on today’s list.
Pink Saturday

How Sweet the Sound

eotioe

Like this? Please pass it on!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

  See my published books

 Holle Book

also pink!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2009 7:55 am

    The size of those flowers are amazing – such pretty ‘giants’. Enjoy your pink saturday …. have a wonderful ‘pink’ week.

    ciao for now,
    Elena 🙂

  2. July 4, 2009 8:06 am

    I did this post during the week and completely forgot to say HAPPY 4th of JULY!!! LOL, be safe everyone. xJ

  3. July 4, 2009 8:26 am

    Eeeekkk those flowers are huge! And I mean a plateful huge! LoL Never seen one like in in person. Thanks for showing it.

    Happy Pink Saturday!

  4. July 4, 2009 1:05 pm

    I can’t believe how big those flowers are! Gorgeous. Happy Pink Saturday!

  5. July 4, 2009 3:22 pm

    Holy cow, those are HUGE! And beautiful!! Thanks for stopping by my photog site. I realized I gave Beverly the wrong link for my Pink Saturday post, it’s actually over at my other blog, Pony Girl Rides Again. Oh well, I guess you got to see the slug, LOL! 🙂 Happy 4th, be safe and have fun!!!

  6. July 4, 2009 5:09 pm

    Stunning colours – and so HUGE! I haven’t seen flowers like this before! And I love love love the closeups of the dragonfly. Gorgeous.

    Happy Pink Saturday, and Happy Independence Day as well (I hadn’t realised….) Celebrations all round!

  7. July 4, 2009 9:03 pm

    My gosh….that is a Texas sized bloom! I have never seen one that big! Your dragonfly photos are enchanting.

    ¸.·´¸.·*´¨) ¸.·*´¨)
    (¸.·´ (¸.·´ Happy Pink Saturday
    Deanna 😀

  8. July 4, 2009 11:24 pm

    Hi Jennifer! These flowers, whatever they’re named are beautiful! and I can’t wait to order your book! I’ll be ordering “Aine” because you KNOW I want to hear the Irish story!! Happy Pink Saturday, and hope you enjoyed your 4th of July! We just got back from the fireworks show! It was AWSOME!! Traffic coming home tried our patience a little, but all in all, it was a fun night!!! (0;

  9. July 5, 2009 2:41 am

    Wow! Those flowers are amazing and gigantic! I love them. The dragon fly shot is very cool too, very clever photography. Happy Pink Saturday and I hope you had a wonderful 4th!

  10. July 5, 2009 10:43 am

    Your images are lovely. I was especially taken with that of the bluetail fly. Have a wonderful day. Blessings…Mary

  11. July 5, 2009 1:29 pm

    Your Hibiscus is stunning! Lovely huge blooms! Great photos too! The blue dragonfly is too precious!

    Thanks for sharing!

    Hope you and yours had a fun and safe 4th of July!

    Tina

  12. July 7, 2009 8:13 am

    I have been behind in my visits! Just such pretty flowers. Are those in Minnesota?

    You have inspired me to actually create my book. I have downloaded Blurb BookSmart and will begin. This is going to be a long process so I’m not expecting immediate results. It is so nice to know where to begin, finally.

    Later in the week, I will do a post featuring your new books with a shout out for pointing me in the direction to fulfill a dream.

    Thanks so much, sweetie!

  13. July 7, 2009 4:33 pm

    Having been away, I missed this discussion, but OH! Those photos are simply to die for!

  14. July 9, 2009 2:30 pm

    How gorgeous! I’m so glad you showed the dish with it, for it really shows how big those blooms are! Seeing this post reminds me I didn’t plant cosmos this year. What was wrong with me? I love them!

  15. July 22, 2009 4:50 pm

    Wow, those are gigantic flowers! Pretty and big.

Leave a Reply

