Skip to content

Reach Out, Reach Out and Touch Someone…

June 14, 2009

As a business owner the reason for blogging is supposed to be to "create spokes" from your business, out into the world. Connections that will send the vibrations of your terrific stuff into the universal pool of buyers, these spokes will bring your widget to the fore. Supposedly.

I understand this concept and embraced it wholeheartedly when I set out and committed to this blog-ationship. However, what isn’t mentioned in the articles ‘on how to’ or ‘why it’s important’ is the bonus you get – the human bond, the interaction, the friends. Lovely people, friendly and sweet, sassy, wonderful humans.

BUT – another freebie is the chance to just gaze upon the homepages of their incredible blogs. They are quite simply, astounding! I’ve intentionally kept mine to a more minimalistic and publishing theme thinking that the focus would be on the content, i.e. MaidenShade or DeStash related stuff, along with my conversationally embellished subject writing to decorate the page, and so settled for a banner to illustrate, nothing more.

The contrast must be quite startling to those visiting hordes (I am, of course, greatly exaggerating); those most assuredly lovely creatures who come from Shabby Chic glory and Country, Vintage, or Cottage Charm to leave a comment about a heart-wrenching piece I’ve written, some recipe or pink thing I’ve posted.  What must they think, these elaborate queens of domestic and all things frilled, be-laced, distressed and gently aged?

I’m telling you gentle reader that the pages I’ve seen look like they should be printed and sold as altered art pieces, greeting cards or something. Honestly, they are a tour de force of and unto, themselves.

They get and give awards for these beautiful blog masterpieces; some have a great number of fancy and impressive accolades proclaiming “One Lovely Blog”, “Your Blog is Fabulous”, “Este blog Investe e acredita na… Proximidade!”, “I Love Your Blog”, “Your Blog Rocks!”,  “This Measures Up”, “Kreative” and “Just Plain Fun to Read!”  These highly-decorated blog royals must cluck at my pages and think sympathetically, "poor plain thing!"

‘Sigh, yes, I am to be pitied.  (It’s kind of a rubber-banding back to those awkward high school years, isn’t it?  OH NO, not again?!)

The other thing you are treated to as you blog-hop from site to site, is the sheer genius of these women.   I say women, because that is the circle I’ve been wandering in, insinuating myself into their established relationships hoping they’ll see me as a long-lost and nearly forgotten cousin, or auntie, sister – or friend. (DISCLAIMER: I’ve seen only one brave man bloggering around these parts, but don’t want to point him out without his consent which I don’t have the cojones to ask for – he’s so talented and fabulous I had to mention him quasi surreptitiously.)

Many are mommy-bloggers, who write with an eye on frugal and green living, a sharp wit, dry humor and insightful finesse that would curl the hair on less stout souls than mine, or sometimes move a jaded one to tears with their eloquence.

There are the midlife gals and grammas who may find their age-anonymity, that the blind eye that the internet turns, shattered as they betray themselves through some slip of the keyboard, "when my children were little, we…" did something so out of date today’s mommies shudder.

Conversely, some quite intentionally and joyfully broadcast their tottering grand-naughty across the www for all to adore in universal harmony, after partaking we are left with no doubt of their wisdom, value, worth.  Immensely proud, loved and loving – their gift to us is precious, they are sharing their very hearts.

Others are knitters, tatters, seamstresses, digital wiz’s, mixed media, altered art, collage, found stuff kinds of artisans who share and impart their specialized knowledge utilizing technology and skill that could bring a corporate business meeting to a whole new (perhaps even interesting) level. Wonderful stuff.

You know one of the reasons it is so wonderful is because they are not hoarding their knowledge in fear of a competitor ripping it off. Oh no. They will show "the other guy" how, thereby actually challenging them to go do it – at all, the same, or better. It doesn’t matter, it’s the love of the art, the pride in their accomplishment, and the delight in your success that sustains and inspires them as they share their tutorial and work with the universe.  They want you to win at this.

And if you come by the ‘MyLittleShop’ because of it, YAY – you purchase a whatsit? – all the better!

Then there are the illustrative and photographic types. The gardeners, the birders, the table setting goddesses – I look at their paintings and photos of a single stunning rose or elaborate display and quiver and utter little sounds like "oh, oh!" unable to adequately express the utter joy I feel at seeing the beauty of their vision captured on my 22" computer flat screen. How do they do that??? I want to touch it, discover it, eat it, or feel the emotion as they snapped it, I want it to be in me somehow, no, I want to be a part of it.

That’s it exactly – they make me want to be included it is so gorgeous; I aspire to amazing by association.

To me, the interaction and sharing of these gifts is simply beyond words. What a wealth we have to partake of. How very grateful I am.

So I applaud you, bloggers all.  Your contributions, each unique and so valuable, are appreciated and marveled at. 

As Always Lengthily Yours,

Jennifer the MaidenShade Lady

p.s.  There has been some confusion…

xJ = <KISS> J.  I’m kissing you.  My name or handle is not xJ… this abbr of Jennifer is just what I do when in a hurry… xJ

Double PS: Come to think of it, my nickname from that dark Romanian prince of my past (his personality, not visage was dark) was “Pusica”, or Little Kiss – so xJ is fitting times two.  I AM a little kiss as well as giving one!

_________________________

Like this post?  Award me with a Reward, Pass it on, Please:

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

18 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2009 5:10 am

    This is wonderful. A eulogy. It really sums it all up. You really have a talent for writing, my friend… and as to it being a plain site, I don’t think so! It’s very restful not to have a busy busy busy one. The blog is your canvas, and you paint so beautifully upon it. Two of my other fave sites have white backgrounds: http://thebagladysart.blogspot.com/ and http://paintedthoughtsblog.blogspot.com/

    I tried white, but it didn’t work for me – all I got was bland and boring! I think I NEED red, noise, busy-ness… but it makes me yearn for minimal and muted. Although I somehow don’t think it’s in my nature, lol.

    RE the xJ thing, that made me smile! xxx’s are kisses! In the US, you sign off as xox (to us in the UK that’s Noughts & Crosses, or Tic Tac Toe as you call it) and in my emails I usually sign off like I am now…

    S
    xx

  2. June 14, 2009 7:22 am

    Ohhh I am kissing you and hugging you from over here, what a lovely comment from a master of wonderful stuff. TY xJ (now I’ll LOL everytime I write my ‘adieu’)

  3. June 14, 2009 8:50 am

    That’s a very nice post. Even though bloggers are all over the world, in blogworld it seems very small. Which is really kind of nice. It brings us all together.

  4. June 14, 2009 9:57 am

    I so enjoyed reading this. And I can’t agree with you more. You meet the most interesting and talented people in blogland. I’ve used so many ideas and recipes from those wonderful women I visit every day.

    I’ve subscribed to your feed so I can keep up with your fabulous blog.

  5. June 14, 2009 10:07 am

    I am so glad to have found your blog, thanks for dropping by mine and leaving a comment. I love this small world of blogging, I am new to it and only started in Jan to mainly write down my thoughts and memories from the old Farm House from years gone by, but have expaned to other things.
    Your description of blogland is spot on.
    Molly

  6. June 14, 2009 10:27 am

    HI Jennifer
    This is a wonderful post and I know what you mean by what you write…I feel the very same way. There are so many different bloggers and blogging styles and what makes it so fun is all the learning, do you not think? I have learned so much from reading the blogs. I feel I’m a wiser person for it all. Its so much fun seeing what people are up to as they share their special days, their sad days their joyous days. Bloggers do blog for different reasons at least started for different reasons but in the end this little circle seems to share for the same reasons…we’ve met new friends…we have concern for each other too.

    Loved reading this ..*hugs*…hugs to you.
    have a wonderful day
    Judi

  7. June 14, 2009 10:44 am

    Hi Jennifer,

    What a wonderful post. I enjoyed reading each and every word. It truly sums up exactly how I feel about blogging. I love the stories, the “oohs and aahs”, the creations, the recipes, the sad stories, the happy celebrations ~ everything that blogging has brought into my life ~ most especially the new friends. Blogging is such an amazing thing. A wonder we all can share.

    Thank you for writing so beautifully and for visiting my blog.

    xo Cathy

  8. June 14, 2009 11:39 am

    What a wonderful post! What a wonderful gift you have for writing! Keep it up. PLEASE. I love reading your posts. CELEBRATE your gift of writing !!
    Blessings~

  9. June 14, 2009 3:53 pm

    And, there you have it, my friend!

    Just think, if women were allowed to rule (or participate in the rule) of the world, we would share, celebrate mutual successes, and help each other with each challenge, and none of it would take an ACT of CONGRESS or enormous appropriations bills!

    Go figure…a community built on FREE personal choice without bias, without denigrating its participants and with benefits for all.

    Timely post considering the news in the past few months, weeks and days.

  10. June 14, 2009 4:37 pm

    Jennifer or xJ,

    I throughly enjoyed reading this and rejoice in our uniqueness, as women bloggers around the world. I so enjoy others sharing their ideas and talents and helping me become a better person and in some small way I hope I can do the same.
    I blog also for my grandchildren and family which are spread out over 2500 miles to know what is happening and know their mom/nana is thinking of them.
    I enjoyed your dad’s photo’s and Tina’s garden! You are a vivid writer and I felt joy in your talent today and wish you a successful and happy week. Thank You for your visit and sweet comments.

    Please come again!
    A big pink *Hug*
    Beth~♥

  11. June 14, 2009 4:54 pm

    What a beautiful post!!! I am amazed everyday by the amount of knowledge and wisdom I find on anonymous women writing online. And you are definitely inspiring! As other have said above, keep on writing! You definitely have a gift.

  12. June 14, 2009 5:42 pm

    Very nicely written! Blogging friends are the nicestPS. I knew xJ meant you were signing off with a kiss.

  13. June 14, 2009 6:37 pm

    It was so nice to meet you Jennifer. There are SO many interesting blogs out there, aren’t there? You are right about making many great cyber friends too through our blogs. I guess I’m a bit more eclectic with my ramblings than most, but that’s part of the fun in blogging to me. I don’t just want to share my knowledge with my friends, but parts of my life too.

    I must admit I had the same problem with my photos that Dawn posted about with the sixes post. I’ll do mine in a few days, tomorrow is garden bloggers bloom day and I just got back from 4 days at MIL’s.

  14. June 15, 2009 1:35 am

    I think your blog is refreshing ! I’m thinking of going naked white for summer! I know what you mean about all the creative women that show their handmade goodies on their blogs. I’m oober envious and awed at their talent. You belong in that group too! Look at your amazing shades Jennifer, just because you chose not to full out express yourself in the styling of your blog makes you no less creative than these other wonderful women. I like to vamp out and restyle my blog because it is my creative outlet and I have lots of fun doing it!

    Your post today was inspiring and I thank you for sharing your thoughts, it gave me something to think about! Hope you have a super week!

  15. June 15, 2009 9:51 am

    Hello Jennifer…

    My friend, you’ve said it so well! I’ve only been blogging for a short time but I am simply “blown away” from the experience!!! The vast amount of knowledge and talent from ALL the different kinds of blogs has soooo inspired me!!! While my blog focus is interior design, etc…I love visiting so many different kinds of blogs…and I’ve learned so much!!! I love what you said about fellow blogger’s desire to share and not horde what they have learned, their experiences, and hope to see others succeed!!! I have never really thought of it quite like that but it’s so true! I enjoyed this post that you’ve written…thanks for sharing your thoughts! I also visited your Pink Saturday post and really enjoyed the slideshow of your father’s gardens. What beautiful photos!!! I think my favorite photo was of the white daisies with all the multi-colored flowers around them…sooo beautiful!!!

    Thank you so much for coming by my place and leaving me such a sweet comment…come by any time!!!

    Warmest wishes,
    Chari

  16. June 15, 2009 6:49 pm

    Jennifer you already know how I feel about your writing! I love the way that you have so beautifully described your sheer wonderment at the multitude of talent in Blogdom. By the way I loved your X from the start. So much so, I use it now myself.

    see?

    XSue.

  17. June 15, 2009 11:11 pm

    Jennifer, Thanks so much for such a wonderful post. I would agree. I started blogging for networking purposes and hopefully a rise in sales. What I discovered along the way is an unexpected world of creativity. I’m always so grateful that others share their projects, homes, gardens, family and life in general. Blogging has allowed me to form friendships that otherwise wouldn’t exist.

    Oh’ I love your wordy lengthy post. Keep them coming!!!

    Kris

  18. June 20, 2009 12:19 am

    Hello again 🙂

    I’ve always liked white background. Before jestro was launched and i was starting wordpress I had a white theme, the one I’m using now cause the widgets are nicely divided and the with of the post is not too wide so I basically stick with it 🙂 But when Jestro launched vigilance the past months, I’m like wow! Come to think of it, it’s the only theme that gives you that little freedom the we on wordpress yearn, right? Been tweaking that particular theme on a test blog and the only think lacking is the header LoL If I can photograph myself a nice simple header then it’ll be complete and up it will be LoL

    I don’t have a business but i do agree about the connections blogs make. Well, especially for me who lives far from most blogs I’ve known. The posts, conversations is quite overwhelming. 🙂

Leave a Reply

