Skip to content

from my father’s garden

June 13, 2009

I love Pink Saturday because to me it represents the perfect time to share my loved ones with the world.  It may be that pink is how I feel about my family, that kind of pinky glow I get in the middle of my chest and around to the back of me. 

It’s like a hug – a warm, emotional sensation when bringing my loved ones to mind. 

Yes, family is a pink hug that starts up against my chest, and wraps itself around me like the arms of a loved one, pulling me in further, squeezing more tightly;  their hands against my back, our heads close, and those “ummmm” sounds as we squish together in a four-arm knot of us-ness.

Isn’t that the loveliest image? 

“ummmmm”. 

 

ILY xJ

These are pictures of my father Jim’s (James D. Swan III to be precise) and Tina’s gardens, well their yard really.  They live above the St. Croix River, high on a bluff – it is probably 100 steep steps down to where the river runs past them on its way to meet with the Mighty Mississippi 130 miles further on. 

They are in River Falls, Wisconsin where surely the ground is blessed, just look at these images.  My dad is the photographer, Tina is the tender of these beds. 

NOTE: There are about 33 photos in the slideshow, and there is sound on the post below this one (it’s Enya) which you can turn on and off using the controls at the top of that slideshow.  You can also use the “View all Images” button to stop the slideshow and just click through the photos if you prefer.  Enjoy!

Pink Saturday
How Sweet the Sound

Pssst, Pass it on:

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

 

32 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2009 8:48 am

    What an absolutely beautiful garden!!! I can feel the warm sun and hear the birds chirping. Have an absolutely wonderful PINK day! 🙂 Marsha

  2. June 13, 2009 8:57 am

    I like that, pinky glow, your tribute to family. Happy Pink Saturday!

  3. June 13, 2009 9:26 am

    What a beautiful garden! Lottsa work. Happy PS!

  4. June 13, 2009 10:00 am

    Beautiful and fun Pink Saturday blog entry! It’s a little gloomy outside today (hope the sun comes out) but your blog and a little cup of tea are giving me a little sun!

    Happy Pink Saturday. Sending you good wishes from the tip of Michigan for a special weekend filled with sun, surrounded by those you l♥ve.

  5. June 13, 2009 10:15 am

    Love the garden and the music fit perfectly!

  6. June 13, 2009 10:49 am

    I wish I have a yard/garden as colorful as your Father’s. I like the daisy like flowers but in different kinds of colors. And I’m intrigued by those yellow ones that looks like a pouch. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing these wonderful, different varieties of flowers. Very colorful and no doubt can surely brighten one’s day 🙂

    Happy Pink Saturday!

    Li

  7. June 13, 2009 10:56 am

    ooohhhh and thank you for greeting me. 🙂

  8. June 13, 2009 11:35 am

    It looks like their garden is gorgeous. I’m guessing especially in the spring/summer months. I’m thinking Wisconsin gets COLD in the winter and all the plants hunker down. Happy Pink Saturday!

  9. June 13, 2009 12:19 pm

    What a beautiful garden. I love Enya too!

  10. June 13, 2009 1:08 pm

    The garden slide show was great and the music just added to it.

    Thanks for visiting my blog…

  11. June 13, 2009 1:39 pm

    You are such a loyal blogger!
    Brave, too! I’ll become brave enough to try the slide show soon, I think!

  12. June 13, 2009 1:43 pm

    Your father has a beautiful garden! Thanks for sharing – and Happy Pink Saturday!

  13. Gabriela Delworth permalink
    June 13, 2009 3:57 pm

    Happy Pink Saturday!

    Great slide show!

    ~ Gabriela ~

  14. June 13, 2009 6:37 pm

    This is beautiful Jennifer!! Happy Pink Saturday, and hope you’re enjoying your weekend!!

  15. June 13, 2009 6:55 pm

    Fabulous slideshow Jennifer! The garden is amazing! Thanks for sharing!

    Happy weekend!

    Tina

  16. June 13, 2009 6:57 pm

    what a perfectly serene and beautiful garden = SO Lovely!!!

  17. June 13, 2009 7:14 pm

    Wonderful! I huge thank you to all three for the hard work in sharing for us to see. Great job.

    Check my blog tomorrow. I am going to summarize our conversation regarding the changing world of online business. (Thank you for your priceless time!)

    If you get your items in excel, you can upload them to Prostores and list them to eBay from there. Easy! esty presents its own little listing annoyances, but one a day there isn’t too bad considering the price for the exposure. (hmmm…good line, maybe I’ll use it in my blog tomorrow.)

    Have a wonderful evening. We are totally vegging out while the to-do list increases. Happy Pink Saturday.

  18. June 13, 2009 8:48 pm

    BEAUTFIUL gardens! Happy Pink Saturday ~ I hope you have a great weekend ~ Susan

  19. June 13, 2009 9:34 pm

    I love your slide show! Great pinks!!
    Happy Pink Saturday!
    Hugs,Lisa

  20. June 13, 2009 11:47 pm

    beautiful post, happy pink saturday.

  21. June 13, 2009 11:51 pm

    what a beautiful garden. Wonderful & fabulous slideshow…

    Happy pink saturday

    Lots of luv,
    Ita

  22. June 14, 2009 1:46 am

    HAPPY PINK SATURDAY JENNIFER.
    I love the garden pictures so much and that description of a pink hug.
    hugs
    debbie

  23. June 14, 2009 3:37 am

    Hello! Thank you for stopping by and visiting my blog!

    Your father’s garden is beautiful . . . I’ve never met a garden I didn’t like! LOL!!

    Your blog is fabulous . . . will come back again and visit!

    Take care,
    Teresa (Inside the Mind of a MiniMadWoman)

  24. June 14, 2009 3:51 am

    Hugs are the best …. and they’re for everyone, everyday!

    Happy Pink Saturday!

    …. thank you for the visit & comment on my first Pink Saturday post.

    ciao for now,
    Elena 🙂

  25. June 14, 2009 4:01 am

    Oops, I forgot to reply to your query about my store scroll window I have on my blog – I have a store set up on bidmate.com.au and that’s where I was given the code for it. It slows the download somewhat but it’s handy to have until I can upgrade my web site 🙂

  26. June 14, 2009 4:59 am

    Love it, love it, love it, love it! Happy Pink Saturday!

  27. June 14, 2009 5:56 am

    Beautiful garden, and love the slide show of it, great job. Happy Belated Pink Saturday. (I’m still making the rounds.)
    ♥ Teresa

  28. June 14, 2009 9:53 am

    Their garden is stunning. Loved the slideshow. I’m a little late getting around to everyone. We have so many contributors now, it takes a while to make the rounds.

  29. June 14, 2009 11:33 am

    Thank you for visiting my blog and inviting me to visit you! I love the content of your spot and will be back to visit with my 16 year old daughter. We are big fans of everything Faerie and since my daughter’s name is Holly…I want to read your story with her. Have a great day….we are off to church!
    Blessings~LillySue

  30. June 15, 2009 12:38 am

    They are beautiful flowers! I wish I had a garden. Thanks for stopping by my Pink Saturday post and I hope you had a good rest of the weekend! 😉

  31. June 15, 2009 6:35 pm

    GORGEOUS photos!!!

  32. June 21, 2009 1:17 pm

    Your Father has a great garden. What a tribute to him this Fathers Day. I love the Bleeding Hears.

Leave a Reply

