Skip to content

Sixes

June 11, 2009
6th folder, 6th picture, list of 6 (or as it might have been named, “this could’ve been 6 separate posts it’s so long…”)

 

Dawn of C&G Design has listed me in the 6,6,6 game! (She hosts a lovely blog all about handmade items and her family, including little ‘Madam’.  This artist also has an Etsy store, please visit her.) 

Here’s what you do: you to go to the 6th folder of your pictures, find the 6th picture, tell the story about it, then list 6 other bloggers you’d like to see participate.

Well, first I had to choose a single folder from among many photo folders.  I have probably 20, each in a different area, a separate category.  (Which folder would YOU have chosen?)  This is not in order – I was just mentally ticking off all of the places I have stored pictures digitally.  This list is NOT part of the 6×6 except to decide which place to begin the count.

I have Photos In:

1) MaidenShade with all of the shades, and night lights; folders with art show displays, research…
MaidenShade CanopyLeft-Front-Corner
2) DeStash has folder upon folder of house wares, decor, trims, fabrics, miscellaneous supplies like these musical modules, Blink n Play Musical Module with Lights

(aren’t they interesting?)

3) Personal folders have family, cats, home transformations and projects, Christmas pressies I’ve made;50s Kitchen ApronTrips back to Minnesota and a weekend adventure to that interesting wildlife rescue park where we volunteered for a day in exchange for admission and a chance to hold a Serval kitten, just days old. Tiny Baby
irons1 4) David has his golf club stuff in a “David” folder, he makes and refurbishes them, buying and selling on eBay. 
5) He also has a folder with photos from his job, which is in commercial lending.  Often he has to go to sites and take shots of progress that’s been made, or not accomplished, before the next round of funding is released.  ‘YAWN.
The-Crane6) There are some pictures of his golfing outings featuring wonderful wildlife and beautiful golf course shots, there they are under “misc”.
And what is within Lucky 7?  It is one of my favorites, a magical folder called “Writing”.  Within that folder are tastes of my imagination, dreams, and whimsy.

and finally…

s fairet

 

In honor of Dawn and her “Countdown to Fairy Day” banner, fate gave us this folder’s photo safe-keep – the sixth sub-folder named Faeries.  Where does number 6 fall inside of Faeries?  It lies 6 by 6 within, where sleeps a faerie tale called “Holle”.

The 6th image is a digitally altered illustration I created.  Here it is:We See Your Kindness

We are supposed to write about this 6th photo.  As it turns out, I’ve written an entire story about the child in the picture.  Did you even know I wrote faerie tales?  Here is an excerpt from Holle (which I am supposed to be editing and relisting for sale… yeah, right after I’m done blogging!)
The image above is from some time after this bit ends –

Once upon a time there lived a very good, kind and beautiful little girl named Martina. Tina, as her parents called her, lived far within the Black Forest in the area of the Vosges Mountains; this is close to where the Rhine runs. Times were very hard then, forcing her papa to travel far away these many months ago, trying find trade in the city. Tina and her mama remained behind, left alone to fend for themselves.

This day had started like every other – a piece of bread and a drink of milk, then it was out to the little barn where she fed her beloved friends their breakfasts. The only companions Tina had in her short life were the trees and flowers in the great forest, Freya the cow, Thor the goat, and Odin and Fideal her chickens.

"Mama" said Tina after finishing her duties in the barn, "tell me again the story of the Fideal, loneliest of the faeries," asked the little girl.

Mama was busy, but she wiped her hard red hands on her apron, and turned her daughter around to untie her barn-dirtied one. "I’ll tell it while you wash then," she said.

"This is the loneliest, the most forlorn faerie of the magical realm. These faeries abide along rivers, streams, lakes and ponds.” Mama began.

“They live in the reeds, and spend their lives singing. Their songs call for lovers, but one kiss, and their lover drowns. They are distant cousins to the Sirens who sing to sailors from the rocks.

These poor Fideal faeries are doomed to live alone in and around pools of water. And that is why they are the saddest of the faeries." Mama finished and said, “Now enough of your fancies, off you go".

A shooed Tina went once more out into the fresh air, armed this time with a honey tart wrapped in a bit of cloth, a large wicker basket, and a small knife; for she was to collect food from the forest.

After a long walk, she came upon a break in the trees where just in one spot, the sun shone down to bring its warmth and energy to the loamy earth that grew rich beneath the trees.

It was as though some hand had come and cleared out a space just large enough for the sun to kiss, so soft grass could grow and a tiny field of primroses could be born.

Delighted, Tina picked her way through the blossoms. Choosing from the rainbow of colors, happily singing with each stem she plucked,

♫♫ "for Thor,

for Fideal,

for OOOOOdin too,

for Thea a yellow

and for me a blue!" ♫

Which she popped into her pink mouth and ate, because mama had also told her eating a primrose would enable her to see faeries – she so wanted to see faeries! Even the saddest of faeries would do, she decided, and looked around for some water where they might be living. …”

  • Holle: pronounced “how-lay"
  • Known As: A Goddess and Faerie Queen
  • Origin: German

These are some who I would like to see participate: (disclaimer – you are not obligated to participate)
KC Willis – I’m taking her most delicious Fabric Collage class based on her Lipstick Ranch art!  I’m so excited I could gush but I won’t.  You can take it too: KC Willis Collage Camp

Visit KC Willis Collage Camp

Nancy of La Chambre Rose – A purveyor of gorgeous trims and other lovely stuffs, stager extraordinaire, creative wiz La Chambre Rose
Sue of Luxe Lanai – Canny observer of life who shares with us her take on things, wisdom, wit and beautifully appointed tables (ILY Sue)
Luxe Lanai
1st Floor Flat – Coolest art, tutorials, lovely blog offering a wealth of knowledge from across the pond
Cards by Terri – Terri is an uber creative, educational, and inspirational woman, and a maker of beautiful cards
Terrbear37
Gail of Mind Wide Open – Altered art, challenges, great stuff, cool place
Jeanie of The Marmelade Gypsy – Collager, knitter. Engaging writer, she makes me laugh and cry and say “well done” as I wipe my face dryMy Photo

 

Like this? Please pass it on:

 Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2009 8:50 am

    Ohhhh, I’m glad it happened to be the faeries! Beautiful altered art, and beautiful words to introduce to the fairy world! Marvelous!

  2. June 11, 2009 11:28 am

    First, thank you so much for visiting The Marmelade Gypsy and for your wonderful and most kind comments! I hope you’ll return!

    This sounds like great fun! I don’t think I can post/reply until sometime next month — I’m leaving for vacation on Monday! But it’s just my kind of thing, so I’m setting up a draft for it to work on sometime when I return home! Like you, I have lots of folders — this will be a challenge! But a fun one! Thanks for including me!

  3. June 11, 2009 12:06 pm

    Hi ladies – Dawn, I was happy too; ) And Jeanie, vacation sounds REALLY good right now!!! I can’t wait to see what yours ends up like.

    It was a challenge for me too, and it took all day for me to do. I couldn’t seem to leave any of it out that’s in there or it would be lacking somehow… ♫hmmmm

    Apparently I am lacking the Concise gene = Ahhh well, that’s me! If you come to my blog, get ready to scroll (LOL Ms. N). Thanks for coming by, xJ

  4. June 11, 2009 2:35 pm

    Oh NOoooo, the scroll! I actually did do a post today without a scroll. I’m so proud of myself. It has been weeks since I was able to shut my thoughts up enough to be “concise”! LOL!!!

    Thank you so much for choosing me! Flattered. Now, when I finish this website redo, I will tackle the list. As you can imagine, my brain is swimming, but I think I have found a shortcut for listing things to my new website. One of my kazillion monthly fees may actually pay off. What I need is a full time employee with a sense of urgency.

  5. June 11, 2009 3:27 pm

    What a great post and faery tale. Loved seeing all of your pictures and reading everything. Thanks for stopping into my little blog corner of the world. It’s fun seeing everyone participate in the 6, 6, 6 event. Isn’t blog hopping and making friends the best.

  6. June 11, 2009 5:08 pm

    What a fascinating post! You are definitely a very talented individual! Thank you so much for visiting my blog. (What part of Minnesota were you visiting?)

  7. June 11, 2009 5:14 pm

    Whoa! Thank you so much for the very kind mention and links! I’ll give it my best shot – certainly takes thinking about! I’m honoured!

  8. June 11, 2009 6:06 pm

    Hi xJ! Nice to meet you! Thanks for checking out the other 6. A great way to meet other bloggers. Dawn (my sister) actually tagged Skeeter and she only posts on the weekend. Not sure if she’ll participate in this meme, but I never do. Nothing personal just don’t.

    I really enjoyed hearing all about you. From MN now living in FL? Wow, what a change! The name of your blog is most nice too. It fits for sure:)

  9. June 11, 2009 10:24 pm

    What a great picture and story about the fairies. You are very talented! Thanks for the mention about my blog. My photos are to mixed up to participate in this one but thanks for thinking of me though.

  10. June 11, 2009 11:18 pm

    I’ve been tagged with the 6 of 6 before too, but didn’t have anywhere near as wonderful a tale to put with my picture as you. I bet children would love this tale, especially little girls. Have a peaceful and relaxing evening.

Leave a Reply

