Skip to content

The Pink Spotlight

June 6, 2009

 Pink-spotlight-Small-Final

I would like to introduce you to Emily Sweeney, a watercolorist.  I first saw her work back in Minnesota, where her medium was fraught with dyes, miniatures, pen, ink, glue, and bits of the ‘this and that’ comprising those found-materials common in an altered artist’s work.

Later the canvas expanded to be literally earth-sized, enriched with the deep loamy textures and nourishments of good dirt; and her subject became flowers and shrubs, including several varieties of roses, those thorny sticks that grew to be her masterpieces.  Riotous gardens, wildflower harmony, and nature in its abstract perfection filled her new palette which was located out any window in her oft-changing residence.

When she felt the need to own her vision in an even more personal way, translating took to pencil and paper; and diffused colors dipped in water were brushed across one another to form sweetly transparent layers that like magic, made her subject take on life yet again – rendering it reborn there where she worked.

See how this artist inspires me to write?  I can’t help it.

Here is one of her watercolors, “Hibiscus”

  Roses-From-Terry-2

 

 

– is it any wonder I wax poetic?  Her work is just so lovely.

 

milywen

 

 

Who is it?  My mother is the artist, and I ?  Another of her works.

 

 milywen

 

Happy Pink Saturday, thank you Beverly for your kindness.  Be sure to visit all of the other Pinkies on today’s list.

XJ

Pink Saturday
How Sweet the Sound

milywen


Like it?  Please Pass It On!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

30 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2009 4:48 am

    Beautiful!!! She is an amazing artist!
    Happy Pink Saturday!
    ♥ Teresa

  2. June 6, 2009 8:07 am

    Saturday mornings are mine. I spend them traveling the web, hopping from page to page visiting some of the most lovely blogs loaded with pink all thanks to Beverly and her great idea.

    Thanks so much for sharing your pink this week and for making my morning just a little bit brighter. Wishing you a special weekend filled with fun and family.

  3. June 6, 2009 9:32 am

    Of course! You can say anything you want, sweetpea, just remember Heavenly Father sitting in the room with you. 😉 Or……..why is it we’ll do things in front of the Lord (He is always watching) that we wouldn’t think of doing in front of Grandma???? That’s how I think sometimes when I want to scream MY bad words. 🙂

    Thank you for visiting and leaving a comment, honey.

    xoxo,
    Connie

  4. June 6, 2009 9:35 am

    There are truly lots of artistic people. I’m no painter nor a watercolorist so I am really amaze whenever I see such wonderful works of art.

    Happy PS!

    Li

  5. June 6, 2009 9:43 am

    Just beautiful!
    Happy Pink Saturday!

    xoxo

  6. June 6, 2009 10:54 am

    Your mother has quite a bit of talent! Gorgeous watercolor! Thanks too for dropping by my blog this Pink Saturday! Suzie

  7. June 6, 2009 11:01 am

    Her artwork is beautiful. I can see why you are inspired. I’ve always wished I could paint. Happy Pink Saturday and have a loveleigh weekend!

  8. June 6, 2009 11:53 am

    Her work is beautiful. Thanks for sharing it with us. Hope all is well with you and you have a great pink Saturday.

  9. June 6, 2009 12:04 pm

    You have a talented mom! Happy Pink Saturday,

  10. June 6, 2009 12:15 pm

    Oh I see where your artistic talent comes from! Her florals are just beautiful. Don’t worry Jennifer, you can say shit anytime you want to. You are a lovely person with a sweet soul. Never mind the so called Christians dripping saccharin, who follow you to your blog to lecture you. It is not the odd swear word that causes the harm in the world, but those who think it is their duty to give us their version what is right for the rest of us. I hope you have a wonderful weekend my friend.

    XO Sue.

  11. June 6, 2009 12:47 pm

    So lovely and talented! Thanks for sharing this beauty with us!

    Beth~♥

  12. June 6, 2009 12:59 pm

    It’s really beautiful. No wonder you’re inspired, I would too.

    Happy Pinkness! 🙂

  13. June 6, 2009 1:13 pm

    Happy Pink Saturday! That is truly beautiful. Thank you for visiting my blog. I think we all have a tendency to get to our limit and slip. he he
    We all love you here in blog land. No worries! Hugs, Bobbi Jo

  14. June 6, 2009 1:28 pm

    Just lovely! Wonderful work! Have a wonderful weekend.

    Blessings,
    Sandi

  15. June 6, 2009 1:37 pm

    How talented both you and your mother are! Happy Pink Saturday! (Don’t waste a bit of time worrying about what others think.)

  16. June 6, 2009 3:51 pm

    Stunning watercolours! Absolutely beautiful. Happy Pink Saturday!

  17. June 6, 2009 4:07 pm

    Lucky Lucky you! I hope you have a house filled with her gorgeous art–and it will keep inspiring the poet in you!

  18. June 6, 2009 4:26 pm

    Oh my, I love the layed watercolors they are really a work of good art! Happy PS!

  19. June 6, 2009 7:14 pm

    Thank you so much for sharing this beautiful art with us. It was so very lovely.

    Thanks for stopping by to say hello.

    Happy Pink Saturday!

  20. June 6, 2009 8:58 pm

    Hi Jennifer! My gosh.. Talent runs in the family, I see!… LOVE her painting!
    Happy Pink Saturday, and hope you’re having a wonderful weekend!

  21. June 6, 2009 11:54 pm

    very pretty water colors! Happy Pink Saturday ~ I hope you have a great weekend ~ Susan

  22. June 7, 2009 12:33 am

    I love your beautiful text and the lovely surprise that your mom is the wonderful artist. Lucky you and I would be proud too. A lovely pink sat. post. Thank you for the beauty of the hibiscus painting.

    Hugs…Jeanne

  23. June 7, 2009 1:19 am

    Wow – so pretty. How fortunate to have such a talent in the family! Have a wonderful weekend. 🙂 Nancy

  24. June 7, 2009 5:42 pm

    How pretty the art is..I hope you are having a Happy Pink weekend and hope you have wonderful week.

    Stephanie

  25. June 8, 2009 1:21 pm

    Beautiful wedding story!
    Beautiful water color!
    And thanks for the storage information.
    You have been a busy girl!

  26. June 8, 2009 2:03 pm

    Your moms artwork is just lovely. I think the colors are gorgeous, bright and vibrant. I am sorry to be so late this week, we had out of state guests and they just left. Happy Pink Saturday and congratulations on your new sister!! What an incredible story, so romantic…….I am sure there are wonderful stories to be told that could last a lifetime, thankyou for sharing the great news, Char

  27. June 8, 2009 3:04 pm

    You’re right, this love story did make me smile. Good for your brother for going all out to capture the woman he loves, and kudos to your new Chinese sister for moving halfway around the world and leaving all that is familiar to her to be with the man she loves. It must have been a very special moment when you got to marry them. I didn’t know about the embroidery groups. I’ve always wanted to learn how to do that, maybe someday. I love your little woofer at the bottom of the post too, great ending to a great post!

  28. June 8, 2009 7:23 pm

    Just Beautiful! Thanks for sharing….Happy Pink!
    Congrats to your brother and your new sister…How precios it was that you was able to marry them…Beautiful photos…

  29. June 8, 2009 9:52 pm

    What a beautiful story about your brother and his wife. Thankfully they worked through all the red tape and are together now. I’m very touched by their story and hope they have many years of bliss together.
    Love the border collie..I had one for 14 years. They are special dogs.
    The artwork is stunning. My Mom found a gorgeous embroidery from China in the neighbors trash. I’ll have to blog about it so you can see it. I would love to know what you think of it.
    Thanks for stopping by and I’ll be visiting your blog again. Mary

  30. June 11, 2009 4:25 am

    Gorgous watercolors! It’s perfect for this time of the year. Thank you for sharing.
    Nerissa

Leave a Reply

