Skip to content

You Don’t Have to Call Me Darlin’, Darlin’ (take two)

May 31, 2009

SUNDAY FAVORITE:

I am replaying this post because it is a glimpse into who I am aside from the MaidenShade lady, DeStash Diva, or however you might think of me.  I’ve included a poem I wrote at the bottom on this version – just felt led to. xJ

ykx

 

Seeings how it’s FYI Friday, I thought I’d keep it light and amusing. Aren’t you curious about the strangers you visit via the web? I am. In fact, I hope someone else picks this up and runs with it, giving me the opportunity to get a snapshot into who they are, and why they are who they are – So if you do it too, let me know. Who am I? Here you go:

7 Things About Me:

  1. My nicknames have been Jenny, The Marine Munchkin, Swenny, Pookie, Pusica and hon.
  2. People often ask "what country are you from?"
  3. I write songs and play guitar.
  4. I am just 5′ tall and I fudge about it… I usually say I’m 5’1" on forms that ask.
  5. My hair used to be all one length, and down to my butt.
  6. I am terrified of spiders.
  7. I quit smoking nearly 6 years ago and I still miss it.
  8. I think there are two types of people in this world, those who can count to seven, and those who can’t.

Explanations/Insights:

  1. My husband STILL doesn’t call me by my name, he’ll find any way he can to avoid it. When he has to enunciate it, it sounds wrong coming out of his mouth…
  2. I have a mixed accent due to being from Minnesota, dancing with a Romanian dance ensemble for 9 years, and during that time being very immersed in their community, activities and culture; I had a Romanian boyfriend as well.
  3. I’ve written my entire life, but the poetry and songs are like the best of me – I love that part of me best.
  4. I look taller than I am – I believe it is because of my deportment and attitude.
  5. My hair was like my crowning glory – it was long for so long that I wondered if I could do without it, so I cut it. I can.
  6. Spiders – They give me the willies. Need I say more???
  7. Oh my! My husband didn’t quit for another 2 years after that. I loved to smoke, and did it quite well. About a pack and a half a day. Lights during the day, Marlborough Reds with drinks at night.
  8. LOL

Like this stuff? Visit Blogthings

  

adsmfb

 

You Never Called Me By My Name
Steve Goodman
(as done by David Allen Coe)

Well it was all that I could do to keep from cryin’,
Sometimes it seemed so useless to remain.
But you don’t have to call me darlin’, darlin’
You never even call me by my name.

You don’t have to call me Waylon Jennings,
And you don’t have to call me Charley Pride,
And you don’t have to call me Merle Haggard, anymore;
Even though you’re on my fightin’ side.

And I’ll hang around as long as you will let me,
I never minded standing in the rain
But you don’t have to call me darlin’, darlin’
you never even call me by my name.

Well I’ve heard my name a few times in your phonebook (hello, hello)
And I’ve seen it on signs where I’ve played;
But the only time I know, I’ll hear David Allan Coe
Is when Jesus has his final judgement day!

So I’ll hang around as long as you will let me,
and I never minded standing in the rain.
But you don’t have to call me darlin’, darlin’
you never even call me by my name.

(Well a friend of mine named Steve Goodman wrote that song.and he told me it was the perfect country and western song.I wrote him back a letter and told him
It was not the perfect country and western song –

Because he hadn’t said anything at all about mama,
or trains, or trucks, or prison, or gettin’ drunk.
Well he sat down and wrote another verse to the song, and he sent it to me.And after reading it I realized that my friend had written the perfect country and western song,And I felt obliged to include it on this album the last verse goes like this here.)

Well I was drunk the day my mom got out of prison,
And I went to pick her up in the rain.
But before I could get to the station in a pickup truck,
She got run’d over by a damned old train!

And I’ll hang around as long as you will let me,
and I never minded standing in the rain.
But you don’t have to call me darlin’, darlin’
you never even call me by my name.

 

 adsmfb

The Master’s Magic

© Jennifer Swan Hopkins


She said her prayers;
They stood like little incantations
against the threat of all things
she feared;
unholy lack of
empowerment and abundance.
Not her legacy.

She became a mighty channel
through which he flowed
laying barriers of ancient promises made;
They were a strong fortress solidly standing,
long after her memory of claiming them passed,
He did not forget.

Yet even owning all of that power
sometimes inside those walls
a coward shook,
weak within her own mortal shell.
Having briefly forgotten
having let go of the knowledge
having lost the feeling
of in whose arms she lay
adored, protected, already safe and saved.

Her only hope hung
on knowing these things unseen;
evoked, created

through holy spells spoken,
and thoughts cleaned of doubt;
So she claimed victory even while she
shot those telling backward glances;
and the enemy gathered them,
arrows in the quiver, the evil armament.
Faithful and faltering her battlement still stood.

As he shot the poison,
made of those weapons she had handed him,
one by one
or in a torrent against her –
one eternal constant held as did
one universal truth,
– a Son, a Ghost, a Father, her God –

Angels and onlookers saw those missiles fall impotent
to the hallowed ground around her;
as she spoke her reality, as she made her choices,
as she believed and through faith,
as she prayed.

Jennifer: MaidenShade.com

Jennifer Swan Hopkins

Sunday Favorites
Sunday Favorites – Visit ‘em all!

Like what you read? Pass it on:

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2009 6:36 am

    Fun Facts All!!

  2. May 31, 2009 9:30 am

    I quit smoking 26-years ago.. and the only time I miss it is when I’m with old girlfriends in Memphis, at our favorite pub that we’ve frequented for 35 years… we’re drinking Jack Daniels and they’re all smoking… I tried one once… about 5 years after I quit… nearly choaked to death! don’t miss it anymore…

    have a happy smokefree day… Dixie

  3. May 31, 2009 11:58 am

    Thanks for stopping by my blog today, so I could come to yours! I also spent time on your blog reading about your princess 🙂 I am no where near your daughter’s age, but my husband rarely calls me by my first name…so he calls me Princess. I hope you enjoy the Tuscan Pork recipe. I’ll be back!!

  4. May 31, 2009 12:13 pm

    I quit smoking a few years ago. Sometimes I smell smoke and it smells so delish! But really, only bad things come from it. I’m glad I don’t for my whole family’s sake.

  5. May 31, 2009 12:24 pm

    Your friend really outdid himself on that last verse!
    I quit smoking with my son 16 yeras ago, I picked it up 10 years later (because I missed it), I quit again last year, july 11 th. I DO NOT miss it this time, in fact I like the cha-ching better.

  6. May 31, 2009 12:33 pm

    I am so glad you commented on my post , because I found your wonderful blog.

    I’ll be back,

    Laura

  7. May 31, 2009 1:15 pm

    I loved getting to know you a little. I think that is a great idea. And I really like your insights/explanations. I think most spouses don’t call each other by their first name. Whenever I have to call mine Mike, it just seems wrong. If my hubby calls me by my name it is Kimmy. So anyone who calls me Kimmy I know I’ve met through my hubby.

    I liked the country western song. The 2nd verse was hilarious. Your poem was good as well.

    Thanks for visiting my blog & leaving me a comment on my bedroom. I have changed the bedspread twice since I posted it originally & I’ve moved a couple of things around on the wall. So not many changes. I’m sort of thinking of taking down the netting for awhile, but still undecided. I like the romantic look, but would get more airflow for summer with it down. I’m all about keeping cool.

  8. May 31, 2009 5:07 pm

    That’s amazing. I had already found those 7 things about you when I first read your blog. I was trying to find a little more about you because you seemed so special. I wasn’t wrong. I love your poem.

  9. May 31, 2009 5:10 pm

    Hello Jennifer…

    Ahhh…Jennifer is the name of my youngest daughter…it’s a beloved name to me!!!

    Well my friend, I would just like to welcome you on your very first time to participate with Sunday Favorites…I’m just elated that you decided to join in with the fun of reposting one of your favorite posts!!! I do hope that you’ll join in with us again…it’s so very nice to have you!!!

    What a great post to share for your first Sunday Favorites…I loved getting to know you through your list of “7 things”! I always love this format…you really can get to know the “real person” through some of the more demure facts! Hehe!!! How interesting that you studied dance and traveled with a Romanian dance team…that must have been a tremendous experience!!! I also loved reading that you enjoy music…playing the guitar and writing!!! My Jennifer does the same…isn’t that awesome? She has a beautiful voice and is a very gifted writer…hmmm, maybe these giftings come with the name of Jennifer??? Hehe!!!

    I read the poem, “The Master’s Magic” that you wrote…what a beautiful and inspirational piece!!! It brought tears to my eyes…I read “me” in the words!!! Thank you so much for sharing that with all of us…and thank you for sharing a bit of who “YOU ARE” with us too!!! I hope that you’ll join in with Sunday Favorites again, my friend!!!

    Hope that you’re having a super Sunday!
    Warmest wishes,
    Chari

  10. May 31, 2009 5:16 pm

    You write very well. Also, I love that song. We like to listen to the “Willie” station on Sirius Satellite radio, and they play it all the time.

  11. May 31, 2009 6:52 pm

    I am so glad you quit smoking,I did too about 8 years back. I am a “Gamma” too (grandma)…I just am in love with my two babies and a third on the way.
    I really do love your blog…I’ll come back Monday to read more.
    Have a Blessed Sunday

  12. June 1, 2009 11:08 am

    My hubby NEVER calls me by my given name either… as a matter of fact MOST people do not call me by my given name… funny how nicknames can STICK!

  13. June 2, 2009 12:07 am

    Since this is my first time to visit your blog, I really enjoyed learning some interesting things about you. I can already tell that you have a great wit and a great talent for writing. I’ll be back. laurie

Leave a Reply

