Skip to content

Me, You, Us and God

May 20, 2009

I’ve been visiting a whole lot of blogs lately.  It comes with the territory – part of my lesson in learning the blog ropes, practical blogology 101 as it were. 

As I’ve traveled and read, I’ve kept a bit of a journal.  A mini one for sure, but this is what I do.  I copy your blog URL, then if the name isn’t evident I put that next to the URL.  Next to that is the interesting part – it’s the micro-description.  My impression of what your blog is about.  What impression you left me with, about you.

For example – here is how I might enter myself if I was… visiting me:

Or one of my favorite ladies, her name is Sue and she is a fellow Floridian:

Why go through this?  Well, for when I add you to my blog roll for one thing.  Having the URL is obvious, the title too, but the impression?  A.) I need to know what alt text should show up when someone hovers over your blog title.

Not only that, B.) I also need a nudge, a reminder of who you are – what you’re about, for when I come visit you or in case I find some fascinating little tidbit to send to you. 

But something interesting is developing in my list.  It is evident and intriguing.  One thing that kept appearing on my list, aside from “personal”, “has store”, or “artist, quilter, cards”, denoting the type of blog or artisan it appeared to be; was the word “Christian”.  Hmmmm.  Right out there “’in front of God and everybody’ as the old saying goes.  I found that illuminating and comforting.

What is interesting though, aside from the sheer number of Christians who are blogging and that I personally have run across, is your obvious joy and pride in announcing it to the world.  How fabulous is that witness?

The other thing I found while visiting your blogs was the pain, ecstasy, struggle, ease, love; I found “life” spoken right out loud, or couched in an acceptable public format.  I’ll be honest, I cry sometimes while reading your posts.  It breaks my heart, or brings a reminder of something I can identify with, or makes me swell with pride on your behalf until the tears just spill out I’m so happy for you. 

I believe these emotions, feelings – and this reaction, are universal, our human condition and the sharing of it transcends faith – it is a crazy connection kind of thing.  And I “get it”.

Isn’t that amazing?  Gosh I feel blessed.

I have questions, I know you have answers. 

  • What trends  or interesting things have YOU noticed in your blogging travels? 
  • What do you do to keep track of your blog visits, blog friends, to help you remember?

 

Well my blogging friends, tonight I was stuck. I had no idea what to post for tomorrow – your today.  Holy buckets, I’ve been on a roll and I didn’t want to NOT post.  It just seemed, well, wrong.

So I was looking for stuff I’d saved in my “interesting stuff” file and found the following.  It seemed God was talking to me, and far be it from me not to listen.  He gave me something to post – He told me to put this in my blog so I am.  I am confident SOMEBODY out there needs it;  ) and will receive it as intended.

 

HANDY LITTLE CHART

God has a positive answer:

YOU SAY/FEEL GOD & HIS WORD SAY BIBLE VERSES
It’s impossible All things are possible Luke 18:27
I feel all alone I will never leave you or forsake you Hebrews 13:5
I’m not smart enough, I don’t know how I give you wisdom I Corinthians 1:30
I’m worried and frustrated Cast all your cares on ME I Peter 5:7
I’m afraid I have not given you a spirit of fear II Timothy 1:7
I’m too tired I will give you rest Matthew 11:28-30
Nobody really loves me I love you John 3:1 6 & John 3:34
I can’t figure things out I will direct your steps Proverbs 3:5- 6
I can’t go on My grace is sufficient II Corinthians 12:9 & Psalm 91:15
I can’t figure things out I will direct your steps Proverbs 3:5- 6
I can’t do it You can do all things Philippians 4:13
I’m not able I am able II Corinthians 9:8
It’s not worth it It will be worth it Roman 8:28
I can’t forgive myself I forgive you I John 1:9 & Romans 8:1
I can’t manage I will supply all your needs  Philippians 4:19

 
Here’s to an amazing Wednesday, xJ

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

14 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2009 7:31 am

    Ooooh, I’m still signed it! I love it when that happens!

    I was noticing the same thing, too, this past weekend. What an incredible bonus for me that I have found a group, mostly of women, who proudly proclaim their love for God.

    On your two previous posts, your destash looks remarkably similar to mine. And, a coral snake experience in Florida soon after we arrived, cured me of grass walking! Corn snakes were very popular and hung out alot. The worst were the “pool” snakes! We were about a block from a lake so those were more abundant.

    Looking good over here.

  2. May 20, 2009 9:29 am

    I just happened upon your blog and really enjoyed today’s post. I’ll have to come back and read more!

  3. May 20, 2009 10:27 am

    I think that it is wonderful when like minded women come together in a spirit of love and solidarity (and humor). Whatever one’s beliefs, we are all in this together, and even though we might not all agree as to religion or anything else, isn’t it wonderful to be open minded enough to see our commonalities instead of our differences?

    You have done a great job of sharing what is in your heart, and I so respect your desire to lovingly share what has touched you in the blogosphere. You have touched my heart too.

    Sue.

  4. May 20, 2009 10:30 am

    Wow… pretty deep but insightful! You are right… God is shining thru. Isn’t it wonderful? Thanks for the chart, too.

  5. May 20, 2009 10:39 am

    What a GREAT post today!!! I really did enjoy reading this!

    * What trends or interesting things have YOU noticed in your blogging travels? “Blogland” is still very new to me. I feel like I am still only taking in everything I see and hear. I feel like Dorothy when she first steps out of her house and into Munchkin Land! “I don’t think we’re in Kansas anymore”!!! At first I thought it was very much a therepeutic venture of sorts!.. That could be true, but I quickly found that it’s much more than that! I find that it’s a whole new world of personalities, characters, talents. dreams. emotions and fantasies.. A world of wonderful new friendships, so it seems, that are just waiting to blossom!

    * What do you do to keep track of your blog visits, blog friends, to help you remember? I am just not THAT organized, although I often try to be… sometimes successfully, and sometimes not! I have no methods of keeping track, except for that word “Bookmarks” at the top of my computer screen! LOL! But I will admit, there are certain bloggers already, whom I hardly know really, but feel I know well enough I guess, that if I don’t see or hear from them in their own blogs in their usual timing of things, it’s not long before I’m already worried about them and wondering what’s wrong!

  6. Melly permalink
    May 20, 2009 11:36 am

    J, something I’ve learned since blogging is the beauty in people and there willingness to care about a stranger. Actually blogging is showing me God, His love and beauty through the people here it blows me away, I’m amazed at the love I feel the compassion the kindness.
    It is obvious that you have a beautiful and compassionate heart a heart that reflects the Fathers heart, I believe it’s because of Him that we can come together not as strangers but as children of God, He brings us together.

    You’re right, I did enjoy your blog and learning a little more about you. Thank you for the chart it is definitely one that I need to copy and read daily so I come to truly know His heart.

    Have a wonderful day, i believe it would be day there as it’s 1.30am in Australia, I woke as bright as a button. I guess I should try and get back to sleep, thanks again!

    Blessings
    Melly:)

  7. May 20, 2009 12:18 pm

    Very nice message. I’m glad you invited me to come & take a look. The best part of blogging is getting to know new people. And even though we might be different, we are all still the same because God created us. I think if more people took the time to see the things that we have in common with each other or the things that are the same instead of just seeing the differences, this world would be a much better place. Even though there are so many different religions in the world, there is still one common denominator. We all believe in a higher or supreme being. We are not alone. Thanks for sharing your thoughts today.

  8. May 20, 2009 1:24 pm

    Hi There!
    You are as wordy as I am. Never thought I’d run across anyone who would fit that description.
    Carry on!!!!
    Lynn

  9. May 20, 2009 7:03 pm

    Very nice post! I’ve learned it is SO possiable to make long distance friends, I’ve learned I learn from one another.
    I have the bloggers that I visit sort of in a reminder, somewhere, as to the frequency they post.
    Thanks for the kind words today.

  10. May 20, 2009 10:45 pm

    I Love your Post! Thank you so much for sharing! I also Love your “Handy Little Chart”.

    Have a GREAT DAY!

    Donna

  11. May 21, 2009 12:38 am

    I like reading about other peoples lives. I have a list of bloggers blogs I like to read on my blog. I also like going to other peoples blogs and going down their favorite lists of blog they like to read too. I have to be careful about how much time I spend reading other peoples blogs though because I won’t get anything else done. I like the handy little chart you included today too.

  12. May 21, 2009 1:41 am

    You have a beautiful post and oyu have so many great ideas!…Christine

  13. May 21, 2009 4:16 am

    What a wonderful post. Very uplifting for the soul. That chart is a handy dandy little thing to have around in times of need, for those of us that are not all that familiar with their bible! Me included!

    I like how you organize your bloggers. I’m still new to this and exploring, so at times I get people and blogs, and interests confused. There can be so much information to absorb and retain. I’ve thought about writing it down. Maybe that can be my next project to work on!

  14. May 21, 2009 5:15 am

    I ENJOYED YOUR POST VERY MUCH. I LOVE THAT YOU ADD THE HUMOR. I LOVED THE CHART.
    THE FIRST THING THAT ATTRACTS ME ABOUT A BLOG IS THE TITLE. I LIKE TO READ A COUPLE OF POSTS AND THEN READ A COUPLE OF THEIR BLOGS…I READ THE SIDE BARS FOR IF THEY NEED PRAYER…THEN I TAKE NOTICE IF THEY LIKE THINGS SIMILAR TO WHAT I LIKE…FLOWERS…ART…JESUS…PRAYER…A LOT OF PEOPLE ARE CHRISTIANS AND I HAVE HAD THEM E-MAIL ME….THEY LIKE TO PRAY BUT THEY DON’T WANT IT ON THEIR BLOG BECAUSE THEY WANT IT (THEIR BLOG) TO STAY PRETTY AND THEY DON’T WANT ANY TROUBLE FROM PEOPLE WHO WOULD HARASS THEM FOR BEING A BIBLE THUMPER…WE ARE BOTH CHRISTIANS BUT OUR BLOGS ARE JUST DIFFERENT…I DON’T MIND MESSING MINE UP WITH PRAYER.
    I LIKE INSPIRATIONAL STORIES, ART PROJECTS, COUNTRY ROMANTIC DECORATING AND THINGS LIKE THAT…AND I ENJOY YOUR BLOG.
    HUGS
    debbie

Leave a Reply

