Skip to content

Too Much Stuff, Please DeStash.me!

May 18, 2009

 

Hey, I guess I qualify for Happy Blue Monday – I didn’t even know I was participating!!! 

As previously noted in my garage sale post, DeStash was born out of my love for stuff.  I know, I know.  I have too much of it.  But I figure hey, I could have worse habits than my affinity for treasures.  You may wonder what exactly I have stashed.  Here’s a sampling:

  • Fabric – I have so much fabric it is just… wrong.  I admit it, I am a fabriholic.  And trimaholic.  Here are beautiful 2 Michael Miller panels:
    • Park Landscape LavenderHills
  • Embellishments Etc. (Click photos to view full albums)
  • View Trim and Tape 
  • View Trims 2
  • View Trims 3 
  •  

     View Trim 4 

  • View Trims 5
  •  
  • Stamps (click it, it’s linked, some are listed at DeStash)
  • Inks
  • Paints
  • Pens
  • Supplies (click it, it’s linked, some are listed at DeStash)
    • musical movements – these are so cute!  I do not need 25 of each kind however…
    •  Blink n Play Musical Module with Lights
    • metal boxes – these are really nice high-quality, lined, great for crafting.
    • View Tins 
    • night light kits

 Night Light Kit Night Light Clip

  • miscellaneous things like this set of bamboo purse handles.  See directions on how to make a purse below!
View Handles 
  • Architectural Accents
    • sconces (click it, it’s linked, some are listed at DeStash)
  • Books (some are listed at DeStash)
  • CDs
  • DVDs
  • Decor (click photo or the word to the left, it’s linked, some items are listed at DeStash)
View Chinese Items

 When I was working outside of the home… I had brand new clothes, shoes, makeup, costume jewelry, girly stuff for hair, and so on, stashed in closets, plastic boxes, drawers – everywhere.  At least now after nearly 3 years, that excess has found a new home somewhere across America.  LOL, see I’m doing my part to keep  “America, the Beautiful”!

As we had a finite amount of space in our little Florida home, and an apparently INFINITE amount of stuff that kept mysteriously appearing,  I started selling some of these treasures on eBay, Etsy, Craigslist and at my very-chic garage sales. 

This is all good and well, except eBay got too expensive, Craigslist kinda got creepy, and Etsy has been okay – I still put some of my supplies on there for my fellow Etsians, but it’s not a suitable vehicle for much of my stash. 

I wanted a place where it was all together so I bought a domain name from Go Daddy, signed up for the new Auctiva product, Auctiva Commerce, and started loading my stuff into it.  Just from what I listed above, I think I’ll be adding for a loooong time.  It is a work in progress, and I’m planning on changing the look and of course adding, adding, and adding.  But in the meantime, there are some cool things listed now.  I invite you to go to DeStash.me and  have a look around, you never know what you might find!

Cheers, J

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

 

How to Make a Purse

Making your own purse is a great project! They are fun and easy to make, and are great as gifts! Make a smaller one that matches or coordinates for keys and some change, or a larger one to contain more items.

Steps

  • Find some fabric you would like to use. As purses don’t need much fabric, you can use bits left over from other projects. Some possibilities are denim, interesting cotton prints, or some other sturdy fabrics.
  • Cut your purse in a slightly bigger shape than the desired size using your handles as a guide for the width. Put the right sides of the fabric (the part that will be seen) together. Line up the edges. Pin in place so the edges stay together.
  • Using either a machine or hand sewing, sew the edges together, except for the top. Sew about a half inch from the edge. For extra durability, sew each edge twice.
  • Turn the purse right side out, fold down (to the inside) the top edge and glue or stitch to give a finished edge to the top. Sew the handles on securely with heavier thread, or you could use grommets and rings.
  • If you want, you can decorate the purse with trims, appliqués, ribbons, beads, fabric scraps, yarn, or whatever else you can think of.

Tips

  • You can sew the purse, use stitch witchery bonding type material, and/or use fabric glue.
  • Try different shapes and sizes.
  • Be creative!
18 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2009 6:26 am

    🙂 That’s quite a lot of stock indeed 🙂 Oh but I’m sure you’ll find some use of it.

    How I wish I have a sewing machine but I’m afraid I’ll end up sewing and sewing and sewing . . . . . LoL. It is nice to create things – pretty little things.

  2. May 18, 2009 6:49 am

    You do have a wonderful assortment.

    This happens so easily, doesn’t it?
    At least to creative people.

    Hope you find good homes or new
    inspiration to make the most of
    those goodies.

  3. May 18, 2009 7:23 am

    A kindred soul! No sooner do I make a vow to not buy more of one form of craft supplies or collectibles when I am presented with something I really can’t live without (hehehe!), or it is such a bargain, or I’ve started a new project and truly don’t have the fabric, yarn, beads, etc that I need. We’re very good for the economy, people like us! 🙂

  4. May 18, 2009 8:29 am

    What a great idea! DeStash! We could all use some of that. LOL. Checked out your site…looks like fun! Best of luck in your “destash!”

  5. May 18, 2009 8:57 am

    Happy Blue Monday ~ Susan

  6. May 18, 2009 9:20 am

    Happens to the best of us!

    Teachers can be some of the worst…we are packrats by nature. Ooooh, “puffs” containers from my toddler’s snacks…we could make Mohter’s Day vases out of those. 52 skeins of yarn…ooooh we could make Charlotte’s Web art projects. 100 small glass baby food jars….I see pioneer butter-making in our future!

    Happy Blue Monday,
    Valerie

  7. May 18, 2009 10:26 am

    Happy Blue Monday to you! I love your blog!

  8. May 18, 2009 10:30 am

    Very cool assortment :0). I wish I knew how to sew…I fear if I did learn I too, would be a fabricaholic as I love to look at fabrics :0)

  9. May 18, 2009 10:42 am

    Happy Blue Monday!!!!
    I love your blog!!!
    Hugs

  10. May 18, 2009 11:13 am

    You sure do have a lot of stuff! I should do some de-stashing myself!

  11. May 18, 2009 11:38 am

    Happy Blue MOnday!

  12. May 18, 2009 11:43 am

    Happy Blue Monday
    Wow this was me almost two years ago we had to make a move for hubby’s new job and I had to downsize like overnight.
    I miss my stuff at times but life is easier in a way.
    I keep hoping now for the chance to start over,but we have no storage or extra bedroom in our liitle rental so I have discovered sweet places to visit like yours and I enjoy myself just as much as I did before 🙂
    Thank you for sharing all your wonderful treasure stashes .
    I had a great time visiting.Will know where to go for all those little extra special things I keep looking for that are no longer tucked away.
    Again Happy Blue Monday to you !

  13. May 18, 2009 12:40 pm

    Well, Happy Blue Monday!

  14. May 18, 2009 2:56 pm

    Happy Blue Monday…Mary

  15. May 18, 2009 3:44 pm

    Hey. How can I follow you on here? I didn’t see a follow button.

  16. May 18, 2009 6:00 pm

    Your right about some of those shops, I congrats you for taking the step anf getting your own. You have some nice craft stuff!

  17. May 18, 2009 8:51 pm

    I am a clutter queen and have way to much stuff too. I have a terrible time parting with stuff though. Good for you for getting rid of some of your stash. I need to start doing that too. Congratulations on your recent sales. Hope you got everything done you set out to do today.

Trackbacks

  1. Too Much Stuff, Please DeStash.me! « | StitchCollect.Com

Leave a Reply

