Skip to content

Ask the expert

May 13, 2009

Teach Them Something, Gain Readership, and Build Your Customer Base

Back to my series on Blogging.  Remember Tim Adam, the guy who offered the Etsy Secrets series?  Last week I was going through the process of implementing his ideas and suggestions for a successful blog.  I need help you see, I’m really a recluse – an introvert who likes to participate vicariously.  Not a good joiner, I just don’t play well with others;  being rather clumsy, a bit somber and grum, with an “I don’t get it” sense of humor which has always made me go “DOH” and smack myself in the head for being so dense when I finally DO get it…  anyway, today deals with one of Tim’s hooks, this is from day 3 :

“Let’s talk about why you should be blogging… If you look at the benefits of blogging, it’s really three fold.  One, it allows you to build deeper relationships with existing customers.  Two, it allows you to meet new people who might be interested in your products.  Three, blogs give some soft benefits that can indirectly affect your bottom line …

The benefits of blogging are numerous…  The question I ALWAYS get is, “Well what am I supposed to blog about?”

That question always reminds me of something my friend told me that I’ll never forget… He told me that, “People buy things from people they learn from.”  The example he mentioned was that he wanted to learn how to cook.  So he went to Barnes and Noble to buy a cookbook.  When he got there, he was overwhelmed with options…  He ended up picking out a book that was written by a guy he had watched on the Food Network.  The only reason he bought that book was because he had learned from him in the past.”

Hmmm.  How many kinds of shades can I write tutorials about to prove I know my business, so therefore you (or someone you know) should buy from me? Do you really want to know my secret formula for glue?  Is the possibility my trim might be 12″ long or you could get away with 11″ really that riviting?  ‘yawn… The prospect puts me to sleep, so I thought there must be a different avenue I can take.  Let’s see, where else am I brilliant?  LOL.  Well, forget that, how about I just give you something that teaches you and makes a nice neat package when it’s all wrapped up?  “How” you may ask? 

  1. I am going to offer you incredibly important knowledge, teach you something to inspire confidence in me, (you need to know this so you can, ummm, understand the complexity involved to make fabulous lampshades… yeah, that’s the ticket!) and
  2. I will engage you and exercise my interpersonal skills all these at the same time…  read on!

HEALTH QUESTION & ANSWER SESSION

Q:   I’ve heard that cardiovascular exercise can prolong life; is this true?  
A:   Your heart is only good for so many beats, and that’s it… Don’t waste them on exercise . Everything wears out eventually. Speeding up your heart will not make you live longer; that’s like saying you can extend the life of your car by driving it faster. Want to live longer? Take a nap.

Q:   Should I cut down on meat and eat more fruits and vegetables?  
A:   You must grasp logistical efficiencies. What does a cow eat? Hay and corn. And what are these? Vegetables. So a steak is nothing more than an efficient mechanism of delivering vegetables to your system. Need grain? Eat chicken. Beef is also a good source of field grass (green leafy vegetable). And a pork chop can give you 100% of your recommended daily allowance of vegetable products.
 
Q:   Should I reduce my alcohol intake?  
A:   No, not at all.  Wine is made from fruit. Brandy is distilled wine, that means they take the water out of the fruity bit so you get even more of the goodness that way. Beer is also made out of grain. Bottoms up!

Q:   How can I calculate my body/fat ratio?  
A:   Well, if you have a body and you have fat, your ratio is one to one. If you have two bodies, your ratio is two to one, etc.

Q:   What are some of the advantages of participating in a regular exercise program?  
A:   Can’t think of a single one, sorry. My philosophy is: No Pain…Good!

Q:   Aren’t fried foods bad for you?  
A:   You’re not listening…. Foods are fried these days in vegetable oil. In fact, they’re permeated in it. How could getting more vegetables be bad for you?

Q:   Will sit-ups help prevent me from getting a little soft around the middle?  
A:   Definitely not! When you exercise a muscle, it gets bigger. You should only be doing sit-ups if you want a bigger stomach.

Q:   Is chocolate bad for me?  
A:   Are you crazy?  HELLOOOO, Cocoa beans?!  Another vegetable.  It’s the best feel-good food around!!

Q:   Is swimming good for your figure?  
A:   If swimming is good for your figure, explain whales to me.

Q:   Is getting in-shape important for my lifestyle?  
A:   Hey! ‘Round’ IS a shape! !

Well, I hope this has cleared up any misconceptions you may have had about food and diets.

And remember as Maxine and Mr. A have said, each in their own way:  
“Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in one pretty and well preserved piece, but to skid in broadside, throughly used up, worn out and defiantly shouting ‘GERONIMO’ ” !!!   – anonymous



 

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

14 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2009 5:43 am

    LOL! Those F&Q makes me laugh. And those pictures….are priceless!

  2. May 13, 2009 8:49 am

    Great pictures. Don’t know if I will gain any customers for my residential construction and remodeling business, but I’ve certainly “met” lots of nice people. Blogging is fun.

  3. Dawn permalink
    May 13, 2009 9:36 am

    All so very true! and very Funny!
    http://candgdesign.blogspot.com/

  4. May 13, 2009 10:30 am

    Bonjour,

    This is Kris from tresbelle. So glad you stopped by for a visit. Of course, I will add you to my sidebar as a favorite. Thanks for leaving a french name on Caren’s @ kdottiedesigns website. You have what looks like a very interesting and fun blog. Can’t wait to start reading it.

    Kris

  5. May 13, 2009 11:06 am

    Thanks for visiting my blog and hope you are better. Your articile today is funny….lol. Have a nice day.

  6. May 13, 2009 11:10 am

    Hi – TY, it is better; ) I’m so happy to see you all visiting me!

  7. May 13, 2009 12:52 pm

    OMG, that was one of the funniest things I’ve read in a long time!! Thanks for the laugh today. Thanks for the visit, I’ve added you to my favs too.
    Have a great day!
    Tracy M.

  8. May 13, 2009 1:27 pm

    I am so glad you think it’s funny too. I was reading it last night laughing out loud like a loon. That’s one of the things that makes my heart skip a beat – finding something to make someone laugh, offering something they will enjoy, and sharing the experience.

    Those pictures are some of my favorites too. Animals are so artless and pure. (Well, except for my evil cat Muffin who will jump out and bite your ankle without warning as you’re walking by… lol.)

    Isn’t life a trip? xJ

  9. May 13, 2009 1:51 pm

    Hi! Thank you so much for visiting today!
    Marcela

  10. May 13, 2009 1:51 pm

    Oh, thank you for so many giggles today! I’ve really enjoyed the read – and the pics are toooo cute! Watch out for that Muffin now! – Your cat comment made me laugh the hardest as I have 2 and the one loves to pounce! Thanks so much for sharing♥

    Best Wishes,

    Dawn

  11. May 13, 2009 2:00 pm

    “Your heart is good for only so many beats and that’s it.”

    What an awesome sentence. Cool beans. Thanks.

  12. May 13, 2009 10:47 pm

    Very funny health Q’s and A’s. If only they were true! Life would be so much easier and pleasant. The pictures of the animals were a riot, especially the dog!

  13. Anonymous permalink
    May 14, 2009 6:48 pm

    INTERNET PARKING NOTICE

    Offender : You!
    Date: Today
    Time: 3:00 a.m.

    Offence # : in front of the computer TOO LONG!
    Details of Offence : During our routine sweep of the Internet we, the Internet Police, have discovered that you have been on your chair in front of the computer TOO LONG!

    You are HEREBY ORDERED to clean up that pile of cups, cans, wrappers and papers on your desk (yes, we can see you – sit up straight!) and after you have logged into the real world for a minimum of ten minutes you may log back on to the Internet. Failure to comply may result in loss of reality, carpal tunnel syndrome, and the requirement of a larger chair.
    The timer starts NOW! Get off your butt – you’ll thank us for it later.

    LoL looks like you needed the internet police today 🙂
    Thanks for dropping bye 😉
    Please visit again 🙂
    M

  14. May 16, 2009 5:18 am

    Hahahahah this is so good! I’m loving your blog more and more every day. And that previous post about your hubby making food for you or you’d live on cold cereal…well, let’s say I understand you pretty well LOL!

Leave a Reply

