Skip to content

“If it’s true, it ain’t gossip”

May 12, 2009

Yep, that’s what my granny always said.  I guess that way she could tell you something without it being gossip, and you know it’s sinful to gossip!  Isn’t that just a hoot?  She was a southerner through and through.  My ma’s, (I do call her “ma”, it used to make my brother so mad!  “It’s MOM, not MA!!!  LOL), as I was saying, my ma’s kin is from up in Pensacola.  Her side of the family was of the Pentecostal Holiness persuasion.  My great-uncle Red started the church up there all those decades ago, it’s still going strong.  We even have a road named after us – Godwin Lane.  As a matter of fact the church Red started is on Godwin Lane.  Isn’t that something? 

She also said to my mother, “that Ginny’s smart”.  Now my name is Jennifer, and my northern 1/2 of the family calls me Jenny – but when a southerner says it, my name slowly reverberates with a sweet hillbilly twang and sings a new song as the “eh” of my northern “e” becomes an “ih” in the mouth of my granny until it was “Ginny”.  I asked my mom why granny said I was smart, what brilliant thing had I said?  She explained it meant hardworking, not lazy, industrious – “smart”.  I hadn’t said anything, my mom was just bragging on me to her mom.  Oh granny I miss you!  She died a year ago today at just shy of 95 years old.

Do you have any adages like that in your family archives?  What did or does your granny say, or your uncle, aunt, sister, brother, neighbor, mom or dad?  Share them here – I’d love to reminisce with you, have a chuckle, get and give an on-line hug.

 

From her obit, which I had the honor to write:   Mary Lee (Granny) Weathersby, 94 years old, passed away May 12, 2008. She was born and raised in Pensacola. Her father, John (Pap) Godwin and mother, Molly Godwin settled in this area in 1800’s. Granny raised 9 children, 4 of whom preceded her in death. She is also survived by her dear sister… Granny’s legacy includes 20 grandchildren, 34 great-grandchildren, 12 great-great grandchildren and numerous nieces and nephews.  

…Granny loved gardening and watching the birds, but her greatest love was her God. She was our Prayer Warrior, and her prayers were freely given to anyone that needed them. She spent hours on her knees, bringing everyone’s requests before the Lord, but her greatest prayer was that all of her beloved family and friends join her in heaven. Granny will be greatly missed by all that loved or were touched by her.

 I love you granny, xJ

 

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

17 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2009 7:07 am

    Your Granny sounds like she was a smart woman. Just wanted to let you know that I added you to my blog roll.

    Enjoy your week!
    Leann

  2. May 12, 2009 8:39 am

    Thank you for the birthday wishes! I spent from 2:30 p.m. dealing with eye challenges, too. It was “uncomfortable” in the doctor sense of the word. Up most of the night. Hope you are doing well.

  3. May 12, 2009 9:12 am

    I just love grannies!! :O)
    Happy 2nd Time Around….

  4. May 12, 2009 9:27 am

    My gram had no sayings BUT! my mom calls my younger sister (affectionatly) The black sheep! Ha! So long as it’s not me! I too, have added you to my list.

  5. Gloria permalink
    May 12, 2009 11:38 am

    Love your blog girl…May you have a great Tuesday my friend…hugs and smiles Gl♥ria

  6. May 12, 2009 12:09 pm

    thank you for visiting and commenting Nancy, BJ, Dawn, and ty Gloria, what is your link? xJ

  7. May 12, 2009 12:23 pm

    Hi! Thank you so much for visiting me at the etsy cottage style blog. To link to us, go back to our blog tomorrow, Wednesday, I’ll have a post about “What makes my heart skip a beat” and at the end of the post there will be a little gadget where you will enter your name and your blog address for other members to visit you. Don’t forget to write on your blog about “what makes your heart….” and explain that you are participating on the Etsy Blog Party, you can download our button and add it to your post if you like. This is a great way to promote your blog, your site, your etsy shop, your work, etc.
    If you need more assistance, please let me know! Hope o “see” you tomorrow,
    Marcela

  8. May 12, 2009 1:04 pm

    Hello there, your grandmother sounds like a wonderful lady. I hear the ladies from the South are a breed unto themselves! I can’t think of anything specific about my family off hand, but I do love them all! I haven’t forgotten about adding your name to my blog roll, I would love to add it. I’ve tried 4 times and for some reason it will not take the address when I go to put it in, I’ll keep trying though, do you have any ideas why this is? I haven’t encountered this problem yet. Thanks for coming by Loveleigh Treasures and adding me to your blog list. Have yourself a terrific day!

  9. May 12, 2009 1:56 pm

    I’m back already. Just wanted to tell you I’ve finally got you listed on my blog list! Mission Accomplished!

  10. May 12, 2009 5:16 pm

    What a wonderful tribute to your precious grandmother! I can tell that the two of you had a mutual admiration society! I also miss my Granny terribly, not a day goes by that I don’t think of her. And yes, they all had funny sayings, didn’t they? Mine always spoke of having a little “pin money”, meaning mad money, & used to put different accents on certain words, like boo-fay for buffet,and pohl-lice for police. It was always coming a Blue Norther, too!

    Hugs,
    Stephanie
    Angelic Accents

  11. May 12, 2009 7:38 pm

    My grandmother (93) passed a dozen years ago – the day before my grandson was born. She talks to me now and then in her young 30 year old voice.
    Really.

  12. Melly permalink
    May 12, 2009 8:21 pm

    Your Granny is so gorgeous and your tribute to her is beautiful it’s any wonder she called you smart 🙂 My Nana is still with us but sadly she has alzheimers and doesn’t know who I am. I can remember her getting up way before the sun was up and she would be spending time with God and praying. I also loved to hear her talk about Pop, her hubby she would have the sweetest look on her face, Pop passed away many years ago and I loved to hear how they met she would say he was a rascal with a cheeky look in his eyes.
    Thank you for sharing about your Granny and for taking me down memory lane, we have so much to be thankful for especially for our Grandmothers prayers.
    Hugs
    Melly:)

  13. May 12, 2009 9:23 pm

    First of all, Grandmothers Rock. My Gram is one of my best friends, always has been,

    She has given me some great advice over the years, but my favorite is: “A secret you tell someone is no longer a secret.”

    Great post!

  14. southernrose permalink
    May 12, 2009 10:34 pm

    Visiting from SITS … I grew up in Gulf Breeze, so when I saw your post mentioned Pensacola, I had to say HI. My sister is also Ginny, but short for Virginia. I miss my grandmother. She passed away a few years ago in her 90’s as well. I’ll have to talk to my mom about any sayings – I can’t think of any right now, but what a great idea.

  15. May 13, 2009 7:00 am

    What a wonderful tribute to your grandmother!
    Hugs
    Jorgelina

  16. May 13, 2009 1:30 pm

    Your Granny sounds wonderful! I had to explain the meaning of gossip to my Mom the other day. She told me a not so nice story about someone the other day and I said “That’s gossiping, Mom.” She said, “No, I was there.” I told here that anything derogatory against someone that doesn’t need to be shared is gossip. It all start’s with “someone that was there.”

    I know, I know, we’ve all been guilty of gossiping but I sure try not to.

    Oh, by the way do you hear that the other day so and so …….hehe.

    Blessings,
    Christine

  17. May 13, 2009 1:32 pm

    By the way, thanks for your kind comments on my blog!!!

Leave a Reply

