Skip to content

The Photograph

May 10, 2009
The Photograph

The Photograph

The Photograph

That’s me in the back with my eyes closed.  
Notice how I’m locked tight around my mother,  
feet on either side of her and my arms twined about her shoulders;  
not-so-subtly claiming her as mine, all mine.

We still share that bond; attached at the psyche and heart.  
My sisters flank us;  
there we four sit on an old wooden picnic table  
looking all windblown and fresh –  
A backward glance at some long-past moment in my time.

Seeing that young girl you might think I am nostalgic  
or wishing for a few steps back to reclaim a youth  
blown farther than that sharp spring breeze,  
but you are wrong.

Go look at my photographs of today  
and you’ll still recognize that child,  
standing solitary and strong,  
shoulders thrown back and chest out —  
broad-grinned and best of all,  
eyes wide open.

26 Sep 08  
(The Photograph)  
©2008 Jennifer Swan  Hopkins

I love you mom, xJ

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    May 10, 2009 12:47 pm

    I love that picture, how sweet you are. I love you!!!! Mom

  2. May 10, 2009 2:31 pm

    That’s a wonderful picture. I have always had a certain sadness that I have no sisters & no daughters.

    Enjoy your day.

  3. May 10, 2009 4:26 pm

    It is a great photo – thank you for visiting Mimi. And Mom, ILY2!

  4. May 13, 2009 9:07 am

    Hi. Visiting from SITS. Cute pic.

Leave a Reply

