Skip to content

You don’t have to call me darlin’, darlin’

May 8, 2009

Seeings how it’s FYI Friday, I thought I’d keep it light and amusing.  Aren’t you curious about the strangers you visit via the web?  I am.  In fact, I hope someone else picks this up and runs with it, giving me the opportunity to get a snapshot into who they are, and why they are who they are – So if you do it too, let me know.  Who am I?  Here you go:

 

7 Things About Me: 

  1. My nicknames have been Jenny, The Marine Munchkin, Swenny, Pookie, Pusica and hon.
  2. People often ask “what country are you from?”
  3. I write songs and play guitar.
  4. I am just 5′ tall and I fudge about it… I usually say I’m 5’1″ on forms that ask.
  5. My hair used to be all one length, and down to my butt.
  6. I am terrified of spiders.
  7. I quit smoking nearly 6 years ago and I still miss it.
  8. I think there are two types of people in this world, those who can count to seven, and those who can’t.

Explanations/Insights:

  1. My husband STILL doesn’t call me by my name, he’ll find any way he can to avoid it.  When he has to enunciate it, it sounds wrong coming out of his mouth…
  2. I have a mixed accent due to being from Minnesota, dancing with a Romanian dance ensemble for 9 years, and during that time being very immersed in their community, activities and culture; I had a Romanian boyfriend as well. 
  3. I’ve written my entire life, but the poetry and songs are like the best of me – I love that part of me best.
  4. I look taller than I am – I believe it is because of my deportment and attitude.
  5. My hair was like my crowning glory – it was long for so long that I wondered if I could do without it, so I cut it.  I can.
  6. They give me the willies.  Need I say more???
  7. Oh my!  My husband didn’t quit for another 2 years after that.  I loved to smoke, and did it quite well.  About a pack and a half a day.  Lights during the day, Marlborough Reds with drinks at night. 
  8. LOL

 Like this stuff?  Visit Blogthings.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

You Never Called Me By My Name
Steve Goodman
(as done by David Allen Coe)

Well it was all that I could do to keep from cryin’,
Sometimes it seemed so useless to remain.
But you don’t have to call me darlin’, darlin’
You never even call me by my name.
You don’t have to call me Waylon Jennings,
And you don’t have to call me Charley Pride,
And you don’t have to call me Merle Haggard, anymore;
Even though you’re on my fightin’ side.
And I’ll hang around as long as you will let me,
I never minded standing in the rain
But you don’t have to call me darlin’, darlin’
you never even call me by my name.

Well I’ve heard my name a few times in your phonebook (hello, hello)
And I’ve seen it on signs where I’ve played;
But the only time I know, I’ll hear David Allan Coe
Is when Jesus has his final judgement day!
So I’ll hang around as long as you will let me,
and I never minded standing in the rain.
But you don’t have to call me darlin’, darlin’
you never even call me by my name.

(Well a friend of mine named Steve Goodman wrote that song.
and he told me it was the perfect country and western song.
I wrote him back a letter and told him
It was not the perfect country and western song –
Because he hadn’t said anything at all about mama,
or trains, or trucks, or prison, or gettin’ drunk.
Well he sat down and wrote another verse to the song, and he sent it to me.
And after reading it I realized that my friend had written the perfect country and western song,
And I felt obliged to include it on this album the last verse goes like this here.)

Well I was drunk the day my mom got out of prison,
And I went to pick her up in the rain.
But before I could get to the station in a pickup truck,
She got run’d over by a damned old train!

And I’ll hang around as long as you will let me,
and I never minded standing in the rain.
But you don’t have to call me darlin’, darlin’
you never even call me by my name.

Jennifer Swan Hopkins

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2009 1:11 pm

    Lucky me, I just stumbled in via beansieleigh babbles.
    I spent the last 20 minutes poking around and I like it here! I enjoy your writing.
    So I’ll be back to play soon!
    Lynn

  2. May 8, 2009 3:32 pm

    what a nice thing to say, TY xJ

  3. May 9, 2009 10:33 am

    Happy Pink Saturday and Happy Mothers Day too, Char

  4. May 9, 2009 11:28 am

    Hi! What a lot of cute nicknames you have had! Thank you so much for visiting my blog and leaving such a sweet comment about the tatted baby booties! You are a sweetie. Oh, you had offered to put my link on your blog roll and that is so sweet. I would be honored if you did, but I want you to know that is something you don’t have to do, I would never want someone to feel pressured about that sort of thing. It’s kind of a voluntary thing, you know?

  5. May 9, 2009 6:30 pm

    Fun to learn a bit about you~

    Happy PS & Happy Mother’s Day!

    Hugs,
    Stephanie
    Angelic Accents

  6. May 30, 2009 6:43 pm

    I once sang “You don’t even call me by my name” at a bar. I sang it very badly and I can’t blame the drink, it was my lousy voice. 🙂

  7. May 30, 2009 6:44 pm

    I guess I should have got the title to the song correct. “You Never Called Me By My Name” shesshhh no wonder I sang it badly

Leave a Reply

