Skip to content

Thursday’s Child

May 7, 2009
Monday’s child is fair of face;
Tuesday’s child is full of grace;
Wednesday’s child is full of woe;
Thursday’s child has far to go;
Friday’s child is loving and giving;
Saturday’s child works hard for a living.
But the child that is born on the Sabbath day,
Is fair and wise, good and gay

 

Well good thing I was born on a Sunday!  I must say though, that as we near the week’s end there is a bit of weariness creeping in and it feels indeed as though I have far to go.  It’s been a challenging, albeit rewarding, week and a half.  I’ve mentally pushed myself nearly to the limits learning new stuff, incorporating alien ideas, and going in different directions than my comfort zone usually takes me.

I think I need food.  Comfort food.  Good, rich, creamy, yummy stuff.  Therefore I decree today is RECIPE DAY.  YEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!  Here’s mine (if you’d like to post yours I’d be happy to see it and I’ll bet other’s would be too).  You’ll notice mine is very indulgent and naughty.  I don’t care, it’s what I want; no, it’s what I need – and yes, DESERVE.  Yum.  You deserve it too.

 

Chicken (or Turkey) Casserole
*  1 large chicken, cooked and cut up (or a couple-three cups of whatever parts you like, I like thighs!)
*  1 10 oz. package egg noodles, cooked (I use no-yolks extra broad, you may like the thinner ones)
*  1 cup margarine
*  2 cups chicken broth
*  ½ cup flour, plus 2 tbls. (I never, ever get this specific…)
*  2 cups milk
*  ½ lb. Velveeta cheese, cut in squares
*  1 can cream of mushroom soup
*  1 small can pimentos cut up
*  1 small can mushrooms (I use fresh sliced mushrooms and a lot more than what’s in a small can)
*  1 cup crushed saltine crackers, toasted bread cubes, or Panko crumbs (optional)
Melt margarine over medium heat.  Add flour and let get bubbly, stirring frequently.  Slowly add in broth and milk until thickened.  In other words you’re makin’ gravy!  Add Velveeta cheese, let melt.  Add cream of mushroom soup, chicken and noodles.  Add pimento and mushrooms.  Cover with crushed crackers or crumbs.  Bake at 350 degrees for 35-45 minutes.

 

Serve with hot ‘n steamy Green Giant Sweet Select Corn (the frozen one, not the canned) that has lots of butter and some salt on it, and a glass (or 3) of white wine.  Follow with an enormous slab of chocolate cake.  Eat, then lay down (or just eat as you lay propped up in bed in advance so you’re prepared) and watch TV, maybe a good British comedy… something light and amusing that tickles your chuckle-bone, and let the warm, cozy feelings seduce you into a slumber unlike any you’ve known for years… zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2009 9:03 am

    Great stuff. So, yummy sounding. It is overcast and rainy here. This casserole is just what is needed.

    I read through all your posts. I can see that following etsy, etc. would make a difference in followers. So, that makes for a sensible starting point. Going on my MUST DO list. Today it started with just 2 things. I was so happy. Before my husband went to work, it was up to 4. A phone call, now 5. A visit to Maidenshade, now 6.

    I’m going to make your casserole and just climb right back into bed! 🙂

  2. May 7, 2009 10:48 am

    I know, huh? ‘YAWN and YUM. LOL, TY Nancy for reading my blog; )

  3. May 7, 2009 12:06 pm

    Here is my Baked Ziti recipe that I posted on my Tuesday Tastes this week.

    http://simplythingsfamily.blogspot.com/2009/05/tuesday-tastes.html

Leave a Reply

