Skip to content

Every sparrow that falls…

January 10, 2011

It started with a premonition I had 3 days ago, of the baby eagle falling out of its nest.  At the time I said to myself, "well that’s a negative thought", and replaced it with visions of a thriving, safe eaglet, and dismissed it.  “It was probably a product of last year’s happenings”, I surmised.

My studio workbench is set up where there are windows on all sides.  They face out toward the pond in our back yard.  It is a magical little portal teaming with “my” ducks, songbirds, turtles, raccoons, cheeky squirrels – life.  This morning I was working on an assemblage piece (I’ll finish it today), and out of the corner of my eye caught what looked like a bird fluttering down, and then with one wing outstretched, it went hopping off into the bushes.  It appeared to be about the size of a kitten and was dark in color. 

This event was over so quickly that there was not enough time to truly see the creature clearly.  My immediate impression was "hawk", but I thought about my premonition. After confirming there was something by looking in the bushes and seeing a scurrying thing hop away from me, I went back inside and started calling Dunedin city numbers to find out who to alert about a possible de-nested eaglet.

After some sleuthing I found a bird rescue operation, and the bird-rescuer said she would be out after a rescue up in Tarpon Springs.  I thought that was kind of odd, as eagles are protected – but, whatever.  She called back within about 2 minutes saying, "I contacted the "eagle lady" and I guess they are priority so I’m coming to your house first." 

Within the hour two women came to our house and we began our structured search for whatever it was I had seen. 

This morning I participated in the rescue of the foretold animal… 

Even grievously wounded he was wily and very good at hiding, his natural camouflage keeping him perfectly hidden when he was right under our feet.  But perseverance and a long-reaching net eventually prevailed, our bird of prey was caught.  It turned out to be a juvenile Coopers Hawk with a badly broken wing.  Speculation was that he got too close to the eagle’s nest and was clipped by the parents, but we don’t really know.

Can I tell you something?  He was so regal, so gorgeous, with his deadly beak and bright golden eyes! 

I looked right into those incredible, piercing eyes and fell in love with him. My identification with him in that instant was absolute.  I was mad at nature right then because he was hurt like that. Also, it seemed like we were adding insult to injury, even though I knew intellectually we were trying to help him. How undignified to be held around one’s talons by this leather-gloved human in such a degrading, terrifying, and unnatural position, then unceremoniously thrust into a cat carrier and taken from the wild and the only world you know.  This was just a momentary, but all-encompassing emotion. 

The entire incident was over in a matter of moments and I was left with a phone number I can call after 24 hours have passed to check on our young patient. What I really emerged with was the enormity of it all. I was given a vision, I was there to witness the fall, and able to do the necessary research, to make the call, to help. I was a part of his destiny and he, mine.

“What is the price of two sparrows – one copper coin?

But not a single sparrow can fall to the ground without your Father knowing it.” 

Matthew 10:29

Here are some images of Cooper’s Hawks.  Not my guy (who I have dubbed “Shaman”), but if the videos turn out I’ll put them here for you to see.  These are just for illustration:

Juvenile Coopers Hawk #1
Juvenile Coopers Hawk closeup
#1) Injured Juvenile Cooper’s Hawk
#2) Juvenile Cooper’s Hawk Close Up

What a profound, pivotal experience.  Bottom line?  I had an epiphany today.  I think the trace of American Indian within me, broke through and touched the earth.  So I did some more research (I’ll finish that assemblage piece later!)

Totem animals represent great spirit or that which they need to survive.

Hawk: messenger, intuition, discernment.

——

UPDATE 7:53 p.m.:

I am bawling – the poor also-bawling rescue lady called to tell me they had to put my little totem animal to sleep.

It was apparent by his injuries that the Eagles had attacked him (Cooper’s Hawks are notorious for eating eaglets). The main artery in his wing was severed, and he was bleeding out so never would’ve survived.

Still blessed, but so sad: ( Oh Shaman!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2011 8:11 pm

    New comment on your post “Every sparrow that falls…”
    Author : Erin
    Very cool! Please let me know when the video of yours is ready – would love to “meet” him.
    *~*~*
    Reposted as I kind of … well, I deleted her original when I tried to use Live Writer to update the status. Sorry Erin!

  2. January 10, 2011 8:16 pm

    Fine delete me harumph! LOL

    OK, I am very sorry that your little friend lost his life. Poor little guy. I guess that’s just the circle of life at work. Pretty, pretty bird – never saw one live, I don’t think. We had lots of red shouldered hawks on Long Island and I occasionally see one down this way, just don’t know what kind. You did a good karma thing, helping the poor bird along today.

    *~*~* <=== pixie dust for your tears

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

